Welcome

German‑Polish cooperation

Article

The Treaty between the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Poland on Good Neighbourliness, Friendship and Cooperation of 17 June 1991 forms the basis and framework for the intensive political dialogue and intersocietal contacts between the two countries.

Foreign Minister Maas in talks with Polish youth (1. August 2019)
Foreign Minister Maas in talks with Polish youth (1. August 2019)© Xander Heinl/Photothek.de

Poland’s accession to NATO in 1999, to the EU in 2004 and to the Schengen area in 2007 marked a new phase in German‑Polish relations, which were further enhanced by the complete opening of the German labour market in 2011. Over 750,000 Polish citizens now live and work in Germany, where they form the second largest group of migrants. Lively exchange and frequent visits at the highest political level express the friendly partnership and good cooperation between the two countries. Such meetings include the annual intergovernmental consultations with the heads of government and ministers.

Addressing the past

A responsible approach to the past forms the basis of our relations. This includes Germany’s recognition of its responsibility for the suffering of the Polish population during the Second World War, as symbolised by Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt falling to his knees at the Monument to the Ghetto Heroes during a visit to Warsaw in 1970. Reconciliation would have been inconceivable without the willingness to forgive, as expressed in the pastoral letter by Polish bishops to their German counterparts in 1965, and the willingness to renounce one’s own claims for restitution, as shown in a bulletin on Germans’ relations with their eastern neighbours by the Protestant Church in Germany during the same year.

Remembrance of the past continues to play an important role in our bilateral relations. On 11 November 2018, Poland celebrated the centenary of regaining its independence. This occasion was marked by a series of bilateral visits, talks and events in Poland and Germany. Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier visited Poland in June 2018. In October 2018, Polish President Andrzej Duda met Federal President Steinmeier in Berlin. In November 2018, the Federal Foreign Office co-hosted a major historians’ conference with the German Poland Institute. Important anniversaries will also be commemorated in 2019 – 15 years of Poland’s accession to the EU [the watershed year of 1989] and the 80th anniversary of the outbreak of the Second World War, with the Federal President attending the commemorative events in Wieluń and Warsaw.  

Memorial ceremony in Wola
Memorial ceremony in Wola© Xander Heinl/Photothek.de

1 August 2019, the 75th anniversary of the outbreak of the Warsaw Uprising, was an important date. Foreign Minister Heiko Maas visited the Polish capital to mark this occasion, thus following in the footsteps of Federal President Roman Herzog and Federal Chancellor Gerhard Schröder, who attended the commemoration in 1994 and 2004 respectively. During a speech in the Warsaw Uprising Museum, given in the presence of Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz and a large number of young Germans and Poles, Maas acknowledged Germany’s guilt and spoke about Germany and Poland’s role as alliance partners with shared responsibility for Europe.

A common future and shared responsibility

The German Government is pursuing the goal of working with Poland on actively shaping European integration and taking on responsibility in Europe and the world.

To this end, the two countries work closely together at EU level, as well as in other formats such as the Weimar Triangle (together with France) and the Three Seas Initiative.

Young people and civil society – the key to closer Relations

Snapshot of a youth exchange funded by the German‑Polish Youth Office in 2014
Snapshot of a youth exchange funded by the German‑Polish Youth Office in 2014© DPJW

Youth exchange programmes and functioning town-twinning projects pave the way to closer relations between Germans and Poles and foster mutual understanding. Recent years have seen this field develop in leaps and bounds. Over 700 municipal and regional partnerships are now registered with the Association of German Cities.

The German‑Polish Youth Office (GPYO), which was founded in 1991, has helped some three million young people to conduct bilateral programmes. In its coalition agreement, the German Government pledged to expand the scope of the Youth Office and has accordingly increased the funding allocated to it.

Further information is available on the GPYO website.

The Foundation for German‑Polish Cooperation (FGPC), which was launched by the two Governments in 1991, is a further key institution as regards fostering bilateral cooperation. Over the course of more than 20 years, it has funded almost 15,000 joint projects, thus underpinning the foundations of mutual understanding.

Further information is available on the FGPC website.

A large number of foundations and institutions, such as the German Academic Exchange Service, are also involved in the intensive educational and research exchange between Germany and Poland. Between 1996 and 2017, approximately 65,000 students, graduates, researchers and other university staff from both countries – around 42,000 from Poland and some 23,000 from Germany – received funding from the German Academic Exchange Service.

Further information is available on the German Academic Exchange Service website.

Intergovernmental commission – overcoming borders

The German‑Polish Intergovernmental Commission for Regional and Cross‑Border Cooperation is an important partner when it comes to shaping relations with Poland. It meets once a year, alternately in Germany and Poland. The German co-chair is held by Sibylle Katharina Sorg, Director for Relations with European Union Member States, Cross-Border and Regional Cooperation.

The Intergovernmental Commission was first convened in April 1991, in Görlitz, Germany. It has had three major duties ever since, which remain unchanged, namely to (a) foster cooperation between regional, municipal and other institutions, associations and facilities, (b) spark initiatives by making recommendations and (c) communicate Information.

Four committees support the work of the Intergovernmental Commission in the following areas: cross‑border cooperation, regional planning, interregional cooperation and education. The most recent meeting of the Intergovernmental Commission was held in Gorzów Wielkopolski, Poland, in June 2018. The next meeting is scheduled to take place in Berlin in September 2019.

The German‑Polish Forum – a long-standing format

Press conference after the German-Polisch Forum 2016
Press conference after the German-Polisch Forum 2016© Koehler/photothek.net

The first German‑Polish Forum took place in Bonn in 1977. Since then, it has been an important event that is held at regular intervals and lends momentum to German‑Polish relations and intersocietal contacts outside official consultations. Its co‑chairs are the two Coordinators of German‑Polish Cooperation. Minister‑President Dietmar Woidke is the chair on the German side. Funding is provided by the two countries’ foreign ministries.

The Foundation for German‑Polish Cooperation has organised the forum since 2014. It was held for the 19th time in Berlin on 22 and 23 October 2018. The participants discussed the topic of “Germany and Poland, working together for a strong Europe”.

German‑Polish Prize

The German‑Polish Prize is awarded annually to individuals or organisations from Germany and Poland for outstanding services to German‑Polish relations. Laureates include Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, Jerzy Buzek, Willy Brandt, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Richard von Weizsäcker, Lech Wałęsa, Hans‑Dietrich Genscher, the Krzyżowa Foundation for Mutual Understanding in Europe, Action Reconciliation – Service for Peace and the International Youth Meeting Centre in Oświęcim/Auschwitz (IYMC). In 2015, the German‑Polish Prize was awarded posthumously to Władysław Bartoszewski, a Holocaust survivor, historian and former Polish Foreign Minister. The prize has not been awarded since 2016.

Dietmar Woidke, Minister-President of Land Brandenburg and Coordinator of German-Polish Cooperation, is the co‑chair of the prize committee on the German side. Szymon Szynkowski vel Sęk, Secretary of State for Polish Community Abroad, European Policy and Public Diplomacy, is the Polish co‑chair.

More Information

Cooperation in the Weimar Triangle

German and Poland: bilateral relations

Keywords

Top of page

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Die deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit

15.08.2019 - Artikel

Der deutsch-polnische Vertrag über gute Nachbarschaft und freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit vom 17. Juni 1991 ist Grundlage und Rahmen für den intensiven politischen Dialog und die zwischengesellschaftlichen Kontakte zwischen Deutschland und Polen.

Außenminister Maas im Gespräch mit polnischen Jugendlichen (1. August 2019)
Außenminister Maas im Gespräch mit polnischen Jugendlichen (1. August 2019)© Xander Heinl/Photothek.de

 Mit dem Beitritt Polens zur NATO 1999, zur EU 2004 und zum Schengenraum 2007 begann eine neue Phase der Beziehungen, die durch die komplette Öffnung des deutschen Arbeitsmarkts 2011 verstärkt wurde.

Mittlerweile leben und arbeiten in Deutschland über 750.000 Polen und sind damit die zweitgrößte Migrantengruppe. Reger Austausch und unzählige Besuche auf höchster politischer Ebene sind Ausdruck der freundschaftlichen Partnerschaft und der guten Zusammenarbeit beider Länder. Hierzu gehören die jährlichen Regierungskonsultationen mit den Regierungschefs und Fachministern.

Umgang mit der Vergangenheit

 Ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit der Vergangenheit ist Grundlage unserer Beziehung. Dazu gehört die deutsche Anerkennung der Schuld an den Leiden der polnischen Bevölkerung im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Ein Symbol hierfür war Willy Brandts Kniefall vor dem Denkmal für die Helden des Warschauer Ghettos 1970. Undenkbar wäre die Versöhnung ohne die Bereitschaft zu vergeben, wie sie 1965 durch den Hirtenbrief der polnischen Bischöfe an ihre deutschen Amtsbrüder zum Ausdruck gebracht wurde, und ohne die Bereitschaft zum Verzicht auf eigene Forderungen, wie sie etwa in der Ost-Denkschrift der Evangelischen Kirche Deutschlands im selben Jahr gezeigt wurde.

Die Erinnerung an Geschichte spielt eine ungebrochen wichtige Rolle in unseren bilateralen Beziehungen Am 11. November 2018 feierte Polen 100 Jahre Wiedererlangung der Unabhängigkeit. Aus diesem Anlass fanden in Polen und in Deutschland eine Reihe von bilateralen Besuchen, Gespräche und Veranstaltungen statt. Im Juni 2018 besuchte Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier Polen. Im Oktober 2018 traf sich Präsident Andrzej Duda mit Bundespräsident Steinmeier in Berlin. Im November 2018 veranstaltete das Auswärtige Amt zusammen mit dem Deutschen Polen-Institut eine große Historiker-Konferenz. Auch das Jahr 2019 steht unter dem Zeichen wichtiger Jahrestage: 15 Jahre EU-Beitritt Polens, das Epochenjahr 1989 sowie 80 Jahre Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges mit der Teilnahme des Bundespräsidenten an den Gedenkfeierlichkeiten in Wielun und Warschau.  

Kranzniederlegung Maas und polnischer Außenminister Jacek Czaputowicz
Gedenkzeremonie in Wola© Xander Heinl/Photothek.de

Ein wichtiges Datum war der 1. August 2019, der 75. Jahrestag des Ausbruchs des Warschauer Aufstandes. Aus diesem Anlass reiste Bundesaußenminister Maas in die polnische Hauptstadt.

Er folgte damit den Besuchen von Bundespräsident Herzog 1994 und Bundeskanzler Schröder 2004. Bei einer Rede im Museum des Warschauer Aufstandes im Beisein des polnischen Außenministers Czaputowicz sowie zahlreicher deutscher und polnischer Jugendlicher bekannte sich Maas zur deutschen Schuld und sprach von der Rolle Deutschlands und Polens als Bündnispartner mit einer gemeinsamen Verantwortung für Europa.

Gemeinsame Zukunft - gemeinsame Verantwortung

Helmut Kohl und der polnische Ministerpräsident Bielecki bei der Unterzeichnung des Nachbarschaftsvertrags 1991
Unterzeichnung des Nachbarschaftsvertrags 1991© picture alliance/dpa

Die Bundesregierung verfolgt das Ziel, sich gemeinsam mit Polen bei der Ausgestaltung der europäischen Integration und der Übernahme von Verantwortung in der europäischen Nachbarschaft und der Welt zu engagieren.

Deutschland und Polen arbeiten dazu intensiv auf EU-Ebene zusammen, aber auch in anderen Formaten wie dem Weimarer Dreieck (gemeinsam mit Frankreich) oder der Drei-Meeres-Initiative.

Jugend und Zivilgesellschaft - Geheimnis des Zusammenwachsens

Jugendaustausch und funktionierende Städtepartnerschaften sind für das Zusammenwachsen beider Völker und die Förderung des gegenseitigen Verständnisses wegweisend. In den vergangenen Jahren hat sich hier Beachtliches bewegt. Über 700 Kommunal- und Regionalpartnerschaften sind beim Deutschen Städtetag registriert.

Momentaufnahme aus einer vom DPJW geförderten Jugendbegegnung 2014
Momentaufnahme aus einer vom DPJW geförderten Jugendbegegnung 2014© DPJW

Das 1991 gegründete Deutsch-Polnische Jugendwerk (DPJW) hat bislang rund 3 Millionen Jugendliche bei der Durchführung bilateraler Programme unterstützt. Die Bundesregierung hat sich im Koalitionsvertrag zu einer Ausweitung der Arbeitsmöglichkeiten des Jugendwerks verpflichtet und die Mittel entsprechend aufgestockt.

Mehr auf der Webseite des DPJW.

Eine weitere Schlüsselinstitution zur Förderung der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen ist die von den Regierungen beider Länder 1991 eingesetzte Stiftung für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit (SDPZ). In über 20 Jahren hat sie fast 15.000 gemeinsame Projekte finanziert und damit die Fundamente der gegenseitigen Verständigung gestärkt.

Mehr auf der Webseite der SDPZ.

Zum intensiven deutsch-polnische Bildungs- und Forschungsaustausch tragen zahlreiche Stiftungen und Institutionen bei wie z.B. der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst. Von 1996 bis 2017 wurden ca. 65.000 Studierende, Graduierte sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und andere Hochschulangehörige beider Länder durch den DAAD gefördert; davon etwa 42.000 aus Polen und ca. 23.000 aus Deutschland.

Mehr auf der Webseite des DAAD.

Regierungskommission: Überwindung von Grenzen

 Die deutsch-polnische Regierungskommission für grenzüberschreitende und interregionale Zusammenarbeit ist ein wichtiger Akteur in der Ausgestaltung der Beziehungen mit Polen. Sie tagt einmal im Jahr abwechselnd in Deutschland und Polen. Den Co-Vorsitz auf deutscher Seite hat die Beauftragte für die Beziehungen zu den Mitgliedstaaten der EU sowie grenzüberschreitende und regionale Zusammenarbeit Frau Sibylle Katharina Sorg inne.

Die Regierungskommission trat im April 1991 erstmals in Görlitz zusammen. Die Kommission hat seither drei große Aufgaben, die unverändert fortbestehen: a) Förderung der Zusammenarbeit regionaler, kommunaler und sonstiger Institutionen, Vereinigungen und Einrichtungen; b) Ergreifen von Initiativen durch Empfehlungen; c) Informationsvermittlung.

Vier Ausschüsse unterstützen die Arbeit der Regierungskommission in folgenden Feldern: grenznahe Zusammenarbeit, Raumordnungsfragen, interregionale Zusammenarbeit sowie Bildungszusammenarbeit. Die letzte Sitzung der Regierungskommission fand im Juni 2018 in Gorzów Wielkopolski in Polen statt. Die nächste Sitzung ist für September 2019 in Berlin geplant.

Deutsch-Polnisches Forum: Format mit Tradition

Pressekonferenz nach dem deutsch-polnischen Forum 2016
Pressekonferenz nach dem deutsch-polnischen Forum 2016© Koehler/photothek.net

Das „Deutsch-Polnische Forum“ fand erstmals 1977 in Bonn statt und ist seither ein wichtiges, regelmäßig wiederkehrendes Format und Impulsgeber für die Vertiefung der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen und der zwischengesellschaftlichen Kontakte außerhalb offizieller Konsultationen. Ko-Vorsitzende sind die jeweiligen Koordinatoren für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit, auf deutsche Seite Ministerpräsident Dietmar Woidke. Die Mittel werden durch die Außenministerien zur Verfügung gestellt.

Ausrichter des Forums ist seit 2014 die Stiftung für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit. Die 19. Auflage des Forums fand am 22.-23. Oktober 2018 in Berlin statt. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer berieten zum Thema „Deutschland und Polen – gemeinsam für ein starkes Europa“.

Deutsch-Polnischer Preis

Der deutsch-polnische Preis wird jährlich an Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen aus Deutschland und Polen vergeben, die sich um die Entwicklung der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen besonders verdient gemacht haben. Zu den Laureaten gehören Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, Jerzy Buzek, Willy Brandt, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Richard von Weizsäcker, Lech Wałęsa, Hans-Dietrich Genscher, die Stiftung Kreisau, Aktion Sühnezeichen und die Internationale Jugendbegegnungsstätte Ausschwitz (IJBS).). 2015 ging der Preis posthum an den Holocaust-Überlebenden, Historiker und ehemaligen polnischen Außenminister Władysław Bartoszewski als Einzelpreisträger. Seit 2016 wurde der Preis nicht mehr verliehen.

Deutscher Co-Vorsitzender des Preiskomitees ist der Polen-Koordinator der Bundesregierung, der brandenburgische Ministerpräsident Woidke. Auf polnischer Seite hat Staatssekretär Szynkowski den Ko-Vorsitz.

Weitere Informationen:

Zusammenarbeit im Weimarer Dreieck: Impulsgeber Europas

Deutschland und Polen: bilaterale Beziehungen

Weitere Informationen

Dietmar Woidke
Dietmar Woidke© brandenburg.de

Der Polen-Koordinator Dietmar Woidke fördert gemeinsam mit seinen beiden polnischen Amtskollegen die deutsch-polnische Kooperation auf Regierungsebene, setzt sich ein für die weitere Annäherung der Zivilgesellschaften beider Länder und für die Zusammenarbeit im grenznahen Raum.

Schlagworte

Aktuelles zum Thema Polen

nach oben