Do foreigners with a residence permit for one of the Schengen member states need a visa to visit Germany?

Please note that not all EU members fully apply the Schengen Agreement, but that some non-EU countries do apply it fully. 

Non-EU citizens living in one of the countries that do apply the agreement fully (so-called Schengen States) with a valid residence permit do not need a visa for visits  to Germany of up to 90 days in any period of 180 days when not taking up work. 

Schengen states:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. For non-EU citizens living in another European country regular visa regulations apply.

Visa regulations

Here you can find out whether you need a visa for visits to Germany and the Schengen states of up to 90 days. Foreigners wanting to stay longer than 90 days in Germany, who want to work or study in Germany, as a rule automatically need a visa. more

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy