Foreign Minister Heiko Maas on the G20’s debt moratorium

17.04.2020 - Press release

Foreign Minister Heiko Maas issued the following statement today (17 April) on the agreement reached by the G20 on a debt moratorium for 77 countries:

The agreement reached by the G20 Finance Ministers on a debt moratorium for 77 countries is a welcome sign of international solidarity. It will enable these countries to make better use of their scarce resources for public health and help them to take measures to strengthen their economies. The German Government had urged the G20 and the Paris Club to defer repayments from 1 May. Especially in view of the Covid-19 pandemic, we need greater multilateral cooperation and international coordination in order to also help the world’s poorest countries. Now in particular, we must support the countries whose resources are limited in the fight against the virus.


Top of page