Foreign Minister Westerwelle welcomes OECD decision on enlargement

31.05.2013 - Press release

Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle today (31 May) issued the following statement on the OECD’s decision to invite Colombia, Costa Rica, Latvia and Lithuania to join the Organization.

I welcome the OECD’s decision to offer membership to new players outside the group of traditional industrialized nations. It will also bring us closer to the goal we have been working towards – that all new EU countries wishing to join the OECD and which meet the relevant requirements should become OECD members.

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), founded in 1961, currently has 34 members in Europe, North America and Asia. In Europe 22 of them are also members of the European Union.

Related content


Top of page