Dominican Republic joins International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

14.05.2009 - Press release

The Dominican Republic will become the 80th member of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA). The Dominican Foreign Minister, Carlos Morales Troncoso, will sign the Agency's statute tomorrow (15 May) at the Federal Foreign Office in the presence of State Secretary Heinrich Tiemann. Germany is the depositary state of the IRENA Statute.

The International Renewable Energy Agency was founded in Bonn on 26 January 2009. Along with Spain and Denmark, Germany was a driving force behind its establishment. Together with the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU) and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Federal Foreign Office has campaigned for IRENA and helped secure the necessary international support by dispatching special envoys and launching a global demarche effort.

Related content

Top of page