E3-Statement on European support for INSTEX

30.11.2019 - Press release

A Federal Foreign Office Spokesperson issued the following statement today (30 November):

As founding shareholders of the Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges (INSTEX), France, Germany and the United Kingdom warmly welcome the decision taken by the governments of Belgium, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden, to join INSTEX as shareholders. This step further strengthens INSTEX and demonstrates European efforts to facilitate legitimate trade between Europe and Iran and is a clear expression of our continuing commitment to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPoA).

Full and effective implementation of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action is of the utmost importance. Iran must return to full compliance with its commitments under the JCPoA without delay. We re-affirm our readiness to consider all mechanisms in the JCPoA, including the dispute resolution mechanism, to resolve the issues related to Iran’s implementation of its JCPoA commitments. We remain fully committed to pursuing our efforts towards a diplomatic resolution within the framework of the JCPoA.

Top of page