01.11.2023 - Article

Name: Federal Republic of Germany

System of government: Democratic parliamentary federal state

Head of State: Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, since March 2017

Representative of the Head of State: President of the Bundesrat, rotating annually on 1 November. Currently: Manuele Schwesig, Minister-President of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (SPD)

Head of Government: Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz (SPD), since December 2021

Foreign Minister: Federal Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock (BÜNDNIS 90 / DIE GRÜNEN), since December 2021

Top of page