Germany Germany

25.03.2020 - Article

Name: Federal Republic of Germany

System of government: Democratic parliamentary federal state

Head of State: Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, since March 2017

Representative of the Head of State: President of the Bundesrat, rotating annually on 1 November. Currently: Dietmar Woidke, Minister-President of Brandenburg (Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD)

Head of Government: Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel (Christian Democratic Union of Germany, CDU), since November 2005

Foreign Minister: Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas (Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD), since March 2018

Human Development Index ranking: 4th

Top of page