Federal Government provides EUR 100 million for Kosovo Donors Conference

10.07.2008 - Press release

An international Donors Conference for Kosovo will be held at the invitation of the European Commission in Brussels Friday, 11 July. The Federal Government will be represented by the Deputy Director-General responsible for South-Eastern Europe and Turkey, Dr Emily Haber, and the Director for Asia, South-Eastern Europe and Afghanistan at the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Dr Friedrich Kitschelt.

The aim of the conference is to mobilize comprehensive support from the international community in order to bring progress on Kosovo's economic development and thus contribute to the long-term consolidation of the country's political and social structures. The Government of the Republic of Kosovo will have several representatives at the conference, including Prime Minister Hashim Thaçi, Deputy Prime Minister Hajredin Kuçi and the Minister of Economics and Finance, Ahmet Shala.

At the meeting in Brussels, the Federal Government will pledge a total of EUR 100 million for economic and social development in Kosovo in 2008 and 2009. Germany is the second-largest bilateral donor to Kosovo after the United States. German cooperation with Kosovo focuses on energy supplies, the promotion of energy efficiency, water supply and waste water disposal, promotion of the economy and of employment, administrative reform and the promotion of basic education and vocational training. These areas will continue to be at the centre of cooperation in the years ahead. Germany's engagement is strongly oriented to the Kosovo Development Plan and is closely coordinated with other donors.

In Brussels the Federal Government will emphasize the need for good governance and for a development-oriented approach to governance, as well as the importance of the protection of minority rights.

Germany also contributes towards regional stability and development in Kosovo through its contributions to the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK), the ESDP Rule of Law Mission in Kosovo (EULEX KOSOVO), the NATO-led international peacekeeping force in Kosovo (KFOR), the OSCE Mission in Kosovo (OMIK) and the International Civilian Office (ICO). In addition, EUR 1.5 million will be provided annually up to 2009 from the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe.

Related content

Top of page