Germany supports the issue of more free visas for Serbian nationals

06.05.2008 - Press release

Joint communiqué by France, Slovenia, Germany, Austria, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Sweden and the Czech Republic:

“On Friday, 18 April, the European Commission and the Slovenian Presidency called upon EU Member States to facilitate the issuance of visas for nationals of Serbia and the other Western Balkan countries. This appeal was made in view of the prospect of complete abolition of the visa requirement. It also signals the will of the entire European Union to support Serbia's European future.

In addition to the support we are lending to Serbia to help it move closer to the European Union, we have decided to exercise in full the flexibility with regard to Serbia called for by the European Commission and to issue visas free of charge to all individual applicants from Serbia for whom that is possible in full conformity with the Schengen acquis. The European Commission believes that this will make it possible to issue free visas to up to 80% of Serbian nationals. Most young people under 25 years of age can thus now obtain free visas.”

Related content

Top of page