Background information: ECOSOC Commissions and Committees


To tackle the many and varied tasks in the social and economic fields, the General Assembly and ECOSOC established a number of commissions and committees. The following lists the main bodies established under ECOSOC auspices for this purpose:

Functional commissions and bodies with a global mandate for

  • statistics
  • crime prevention and criminal justice
  • population and development
  • social development
  • the status of women
  • narcotic drugs
  • sustainable development
  • science and technology for development
  • forests

Five regional economic commissions

Their task is to promote economic development in their respective region:

  • Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) based in Addis Ababa
  • Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) based in Bangkok
  • Economic Commission for Europe (ECE) based in Geneva
  • Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) based in Santiago de Chile
  • Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) based in Beirut

Standing committees

  • Committee for Programme and Coordination
  • Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations
  • Committee on Negotiations with Intergovernmental Agencies

Expert bodies

  • Committee for Development Policy
  • Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods and on the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals
  • Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
  • Committee of Experts on Public Administration
  • United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names
  • Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
  • International Narcotics Control Board

Moreover, committees on individual issues are established on an ad hoc basis and additional bodies are created as required

Return to main article: United Nations financing and structures

Last updated on 22 June 2016

Related content

Top of page