Responsibility for stability and development: the G7 Foreign Ministers Meeting in Lucca

12.04.2017 - Article

The G7 Foreign Ministers mit in Lucca, Italy on Monday and Tuesday (10 and 11 April).

The G7 Foreign Ministers met in Lucca, Italy, on Monday and Tuesday (10 and 11 April). Around six weeks before the G7 Summit, they are set to discuss displacement and migration, counter-terrorism and sustainable development. A special session on Syria is also scheduled to take place on the fringes of the meeting.

Current crises

Preparations are under way: the Palazzo Ducale in Lucca is being decorated with flags of the G7 countries
Preparations are under way: the Palazzo Ducale in Lucca is being decorated with flags of the G7 countries© dpa/picture-alliance

From Syria to Russia and Africa to cyber foreign policy, the agenda for the G7 Foreign Ministers meeting in Italy on 10 and 11 April was wide-ranging. Topics of discussion include current crises and conflicts in international politics. One focus is on displacement and migration. The G7 countries intend to work together more closely on this, especially regarding efforts to combat the causes of refugee movements.

Long-term stabilisation

The main topic of discussion was long-term development and stabilisation, however. Together, the G7 account for 10.5 percent of the world’s population and generate 44 percent of the global gross national income. As leading industrial nations, they bear a particular responsibility for crisis prevention and sustainable development.

One focus in this regard, also within the context of the German G20 Presidency, is Africa. Europe’s neighbouring continent is grappling with conflicts and famines while the impact of climate change is making itself felt and there are considerable movements of refugees and migrants. The G7 is seeking to de‑escalate the situation with long-term concepts for prevention and stabilisation.

G7 instead of G8: keeping the channels of communication open

The 2016 Foreign Ministers’ meeting in Japan
The 2016 Foreign Ministers’ meeting in Japan© dpa/picture-alliance

G7 Summits have taken place since 1975. The Group was expanded to become the G8 with the addition of Russia in 1998 and met in this format until March 2014. As a result of the violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity by the Russian Federation, the heads of state and government of the other seven members decided at the time to meet the reduced G7 format until further notice.

Find out more:


Related content


Top of page