European Parliament


The European Parliament has been the directly elected body representing the people of the European Union since 1979. In most policy areas, it functions as a co‑legislator on an equal footing with the Council.

Part of the remit of the Federal Foreign Office is to collaborate closely with the European Parliament.

The European Parliament’s three main tasks are:

  • legislation (debating and adopting EU laws and regulations),
  • democratic scrutiny of other EU institutions, particularly the European Commission, and
  • adoption of the EU budget.

After the European elections of May 2019, the European Parliament convened for its ninth legislative term. Almost all of the 705 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) belong to one of the following political groups:

  • Group of the European People’s Party (EPP)
  • Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (S&D)
  • Renew Europe
  • Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance (Greens/EFA)
  • Identity an Democracy (ID)
  • European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR)
  • Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)
  • Confederal Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL)

The 96 German MEPs belong to 13 different parties: 29 are from the Christian Democratic Union or Christian Social Union (23 CDU and 6 CSU), 16 from the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SDP), 21 from Alliance 90/The Greens, five from DIE LINKE, 11 from Alternative für Deutschland (AfD), five from the Free Democratic Party (FDP) two each from Die PARTEI and the Freie Wähler and one each from the Ecological Democratic Party (ÖDP),Tierschutz, Familie, the Pirate Party and Volt. The President of the Parliament is Italian Social Democrat David Maria Sassoli

The European Parliament’s official seat is Strasbourg, though part of the work of the Parliament is done in Brussels and Luxembourg.

The European Parliament´s own website is available via this link:


Members of the European Parliament:


Liaison Office of the European Parliament in Germany:


Top of page