COVID-19 - temporary restriction of non‑essential entry to the EU extended until 15 June 2020

15.05.2020 - Article

The Federal Government has decided to follow the European Commission’s recommendation of 8 May 2020 and to extend the existing travel restrictions on all non‑essential travel from third countries to the Federal Republic of Germany for another 30 days in order to further contain COVID‑19 and prevent the spread of coronavirus. Like other European countries, Germany will continue to apply the travel restrictions in the Schengen area decided on 17 March 2020 by the EU Heads of State and Government until 15 June 2020. In line with the still applicable order by the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community pursuant to Article 14 (6) of the Schengen Borders Code, the travel restrictions expressly do not apply to the following people:

  1. Citizens of EU Member States and countries associated with Schengen and their family members and citizens of the United Kingdom, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland and their family members who enter Germany in order to travel to their country of origin or residence, provided that no alternative route is possible.
  2. Third‑country nationals with a long‑term right of residence in an EU Member State and/or the countries mentioned above (residence permit or long‑term visa, e.g. for study or work purposes), provided that they are returning to their place of habitual residence.
  3. Third‑country nationals with essential functions or needs, who are defined as follows in the decision:
  • healthcare workers, health researchers and care professionals;
  • cross‑border workers, transport personnel employed in the movement of goods and other essential sectors
  • diplomats, staff of international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers insofar as they are performing official duties
  • passengers in transit
  • passengers travelling for imperative family reasons
  • persons in need of international protection or seeking entry for other humanitarian reasons

Further information on travel:

Furthermore, it has been decided that the temporary border controls reintroduced at the borders between Germany, Switzerland and France will be extended until 15 June 2020. The same applies to the airside borders with Italy and Spain.

Border controls will continue to be carried out at the border with Denmark for the time being. The date on which border controls cease will be determined in consultation with the Danish Government.

There will, however, be a degree of relaxation with respect to the practical arrangements for land border controls. All cross‑border transport connections will be permitted again. In the future, controls will no longer be systematic, but flexible and based on the level of risk. While having a valid reason for entry will be retained as a requirement, there will be additional facilities for travel for family or personal reasons. Details in this regard are still pending.

Border controls at the border with Luxembourg are scheduled to cease on 15 May 2020.

Quarantine regulations for people entering or returning to Germany:

The Federation and the Länder have agreed on the main aspects of uniform quarantine regulations for people entering or returning to Germany. Further information, the model ordinance and links are available on the websites of the Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community. For information on the concrete implementation of the measures in the various Länder, please see the websites of the Land Ministries of Health.

Top of page