Welcome

Economic, social and cultural rights: – An integral part of international law

Article

Be it access to decent work or adequate healthcare – millions of people around the world are being deprived of economic, social and cultural rights. This is a question not only of resources and political decision-making, but also of the poor implementation of internationally binding rules.

Access to clean drinking water is a human right
Access to clean drinking water is a human right© dpa/picture alliance

Basis in international law: the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Even the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948 lists, in Articles 23 to 27, economic, social and cultural rights, including the right to education, work and an adequate standard of living, including food, medical care and housing. The year 1966 saw, in parallel to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the adoption of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, a universal and specific human rights instrument relating to ESC rights. 164 countries have signed the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.

ESC rights – protection against interference in fundamental areas of life

For 50 years the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights has been an integral part of international law and of the human rights policy debate on the same footing as the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Both agreements require the States parties to respect the fundamental rights of the individual and to protect them against attack or interference by third parties. This applies to civil and political rights, which provide protection, for instance, against torture or restrictions of the right to freedom of opinion, and equally to ESC rights, such as the right to free choice of employment or protection against arbitrary removal from one’s home.

People in Asore Kebele/Ethiopia filling canisters with water; the water point project is supported by UNICEF
People in Asore Kebele/Ethiopia filling canisters with water; the water point project is supported by UNICEF© dpa/picture alliance

It is frequently alleged that the realisation of economic, social and cultural rights – in contrast to civil and political rights – depends above all on the availability of sufficient resources and thus on a country’s level of development. But material resources also play a role when it comes to realising a well-functioning, well-equipped judicial system, humane prisons, a sound electoral system – prerequisites for guaranteeing civil and political rights. And finally, when it comes to guaranteeing economic, social and cultural rights, e.g. the right to food or healthcare, it is not only and not primarily a matter of distributing as many resources as possible, but rather of ensuring access or participation without discrimination.

All human rights are indivisible, universal and apply equally to all. In the Federal Government’s eyes, there is no “ranking” of human rights. The Federal Government has long been working for the realisation of ESC rights, too: the human right to water and sanitation, for example, or the right to adequate housing.

Click here for further information on WASH: Human right to clean drinking water and sanitation

Human rights and the 2030 Agenda

In September 2015, the 193 UN member states adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. During the negotiating process, the Federal Government was determined to anchor the protection and promotion of human rights firmly in the 2030 Agenda and to point out that sustainable development and human rights are mutually dependent. The move towards global sustainable development and the eradication of poverty is reflected in the 2030 Agenda’s seventeen sustainable development goals, which are aimed primarily at promoting enhanced implementation of ESC rights.

Human rights and economic interests: the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights

At a cabinet meeting in December 2016, the Federal Government adopted the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights, which aims to improve the human rights situation all along the supply and value chain in Germany and worldwide. To this end, the Action Plan combines the strengths of the various stakeholders from government, business, civil society and the trade unions.

National Action Plan Implementation of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights PDF / 680 KB

Related content

Top of page

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte – fester Bestandteil des Völkerrechts

Artikel

Ob Zugang zu menschenwürdiger Arbeit oder eine angemessene Gesundheitsversorgung: Millionen Menschen bleiben weltweit wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Recht verwehrt.

Der Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser ist ein Menschenrecht
Der Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser ist ein Menschenrecht© dpa/picture alliance

Völkerrechtliche Grundlagen: Der Internationale Pakt über wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte

Schon die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte von 1948 führt in den Artikeln 23 bis 27 wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte auf, darunter die Rechte auf Bildung, Arbeit, angemessenen Lebensstandard einschließlich Ernährung, ärztliche Versorgung und Wohnen. Mit dem Internationalen Pakt über wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte, dem UN-Sozialpakt, wurde 1966 – parallel zur Verabschiedung des Internationalen Pakts über bürgerliche und politische Rechte, dem UN-Zivilpakt – ein universelles und spezifisches Menschenrechtsinstrument zu den so genannten WSK-Rechten geschaffen. Weltweit haben 164 Staaten den Sozialpakt unterzeichnet.

WSK-Rechte – Schutz vor Eingriffe in elementare Lebensbereiche

Der UN-Sozialpakt ist seit 50 Jahren fester Bestandteil des Völkerrechts und des menschenrechtspolitischen Diskurses – und steht damit auf gleicher Stufe wie der UN-Zivilpakt. Beide Übereinkommen schreiben den Vertragsstaaten vor, die elementaren Rechte des Einzelnen zu respektieren und vor Übergriffen durch Dritte zu schützen. Dies gilt für die bürgerlichen und politischen Rechte, die z.B. vor Folter oder der Einschränkungen des Rechts auf Meinungsfreiheit schützen, ebenso wie für die WSK-Rechte, wie z.B. das Rechts auf freie Wahl des Berufs oder der Schutz vor willkürlicher Vertreibung von Menschen aus ihren Häusern.

Menschen in Asore Kebele/Äthiopien füllen Wasser in Kanister. Das Brunnen-Projekt wurde von UNICEF unterstützt.
Menschen in Asore Kebele/Äthiopien füllen Wasser in Kanister. Das Brunnen-Projekt wurde von UNICEF unterstützt.© dpa/picture alliance

Oft wird eingewandt, dass die Verwirklichung der WSK-Rechte - im Gegensatz zu den bürgerlichen und politischen Rechten - vorwiegend vom Vorhandensein ausreichender Ressourcen und damit vom Entwicklungsstand eines Landes abhängig sind. Aber auch ein gut funktionierendes und ausgestattetes Justizsystem, menschenwürdige Gefängnisse, ein verlässliches Wahlsystem – Voraussetzung für die Gewähr bürgerlicher und politischer Rechte - lassen sich nicht unabhängig von materiellen Ressourcen verwirklichen. Und schließlich geht es bei der Gewährleistung der WSK-Rechte, z.B. den Rechten auf Nahrung oder auf Gesundheit, nicht nur und in erster Linie um die Verteilung möglichst großer Ressourcen, sondern auf diskriminierungsfreien Zugang oder Teilhabe.

Alle Menschenrechte sind unteilbar, universell und gelten für alle Menschen gleich. Für die Bundesregierung gibt es daher kein „Ranking“ unter den Menschenrechten. Sie setzt sich seit langem auch für die Verwirklichung der WSK-Rechte ein, so zum Beispiel für die Menschenrechte auf Wasser und Sanitärversorgung oder das Recht auf angemessenes Wohnen.

Mehr zum Thema „WASH: Menschenrecht auf sauberes Trinkwasser und Sanitärversorgung“

Menschenrechte und die Agenda 2030

Im September 2015 haben die 193 Mitgliedsstaaten der Vereinten Nationen die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung vereinbart. Im Verhandlungsprozess war es ein zentrales Anliegen der Bundesregierung, den Schutz und die Förderung der Menschenrechte in der Agenda 2030 nachhaltig zu verankern und darauf zu verweisen, dass nachhaltige Entwicklung und Menschenrechte sich wechselseitig bedingen. Der Wandel hin zu einer weltweiten, nachhaltigen Entwicklung und der Beseitigung der Armut spiegelt sich in den 17 Entwicklungszielen der Agenda 2030 wider, die vor allem auch eine stärkere Umsetzung der WSK-Rechte fördern sollen.

Menschenrechte und wirtschaftliche Interessen: Der Nationale Aktionsplan „Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte“

Im Dezember 2016 hat die Bundesregierung den Nationalen Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte im Bundeskabinett verabschiedet. Der Aktionsplan verankert Verantwortlichkeiten deutscher Unternehmen zur Wahrung der Menschenrechte in einem festen Rahmen, indem global einheitliche und überprüfbare Standards festgelegt werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Nationalen Aktionsplan „Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte“

nach oben