Welcome

Campaigning against torture and the death penalty

Article

Many countries in the world still hand down death sentences and carry out executions. Germany is campaigning worldwide for the abolition of this cruel form of punishment.

Protest against the death penalty
Protest against the death penalty© dpa/picture-alliance

Even though resistance to the death penalty has steadily grown during the last few years, death sentences are still handed down and executions carried out in many states around the world. Germany opposes the death penalty on ethical and moral grounds as well as for reasons of legal policy and is campaigning worldwide for the abolition of this cruel form of punishment. The Federal Government’s engagement in the fight against torture and abuse, too, is resolute and untiring. Together with its EU partners, it is striving to strengthen the international mechanisms to combat torture. The primary goals are the worldwide abolition of torture and the complete rehabilitation of torture victims.

In favour of abolishing the death penalty worldwide

The death penalty is not expressly prohibited under international law. Only the minimum norms enshrined under Article 6 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights are internationally binding. Under this Article, death sentences may be imposed only for the most serious crimes, and all safeguards to ensure due process under the rule of law must be observed. Carrying out the death sentence on people who were minors at the time of the crime and on pregnant women is prohibited. In ratifying the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, however, a total of 85 states to date – including Germany and all other EU member states – have undertaken to abolish the death penalty. In Europe, Protocol 13 to the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), which entered into force in 2003, also obligates those member states of the Council of Europe that have signed and ratified it to abolish the death penalty in all circumstances.

Belarus is the last state in Europe which carries out executions. Outside Europe, too, there is a trend towards the abolition of capital punishment. The death penalty has been abolished in almost all Latin American countries, but also in central Asia and many states in southern Africa. A total of more than 130 states have abolished the death penalty or refrain from carrying it out, whilst some 50 states continue to carry out executions.

EU policy on fighting the death penalty

Germany and the EU actively campaign against the death penalty
Germany and the EU actively campaign against the death penalty© dpa/picture-alliance

Germany and the other EU member states have been actively campaigning against the death penalty for many years. This campaign is based on the Guidelines to EU Policy towards Third Countries on the Death Penalty. These guidelines define the campaign against the death penalty as a central human rights issue within the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP). Furthermore, they set out principles and criteria for practical action, for example on the question as to when the EU makes public statements or in what form it intervenes vis-à-vis other states. The aim is to prevent the imposition of the death penalty in individual cases, as well as to influence the practice in individual countries and, for instance, to bring about a moratorium on or abolition of the death penalty.

UN Convention against Torture

Germany has been a State party to the UN Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment since 1990 and to the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture since 2009. Germany is thus subject, on the one hand, to the strict international control exercised by the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture, to which the States parties must submit regular reports on the national measures they have taken to comply with the Convention. On the other, it has committed itself to establishing a national preventive mechanism (NPM) as envisaged in the Optional Protocol. In Germany, the NPM is the National Agency for the Prevention of Torture.

The UN Convention against Torture is also the basis and reference document for EU and Council of Europe policies and measures against torture and inhuman treatment.

Europe – instruments to combat torture

With the adoption of the guidelines for EU policy towards third countries on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading punishment or treatment on 9 April 2001, the EU created an instrument which strengthened its commitment to the worldwide abolition of torture. A jointly developed global action plan, whose key points were implemented during Germany’s EU Presidency, consisted of numerous demarches in third states in which the EU addressed the problem of the use of torture and called for its abolition. The EU guidelines also help ensure that the fight against torture and its abolition is a fixture in dialogues with third states which the EU conducts as an organisation and the member states at bilateral level. The German Government, too, is obliged to adhere to the EU guidelines in its actions. The focus is on individual cases.

European Convention for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment

The Council of Europe also has a convention against torture: the European Convention for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, which entered into force on 1 February 1989. The Convention provided for the establishment of a committee of independent experts to review the human rights situation of individuals in States parties who have been deprived of their freedom. To this end, visits are made to prisons, psychiatric institutions and other establishments in which people are detained. The reports on these visits, which contain concrete recommendations for action, are published with the consent of the state in question.

UN Special Rapporteur on Torture

As early as 1985, the Commission on Human Rights, as it then was, appointed a Special Rapporteur to examine all issues relevant to torture. His mandate covers all countries, irrespective of whether a state has (yet) ratified the Convention against Torture. He reports on the situation in individual countries which he visits, like all Special Rapporteurs, at the country’s invitation, and draws public and media attention to specific urgent cases.

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Einsatz gegen Todesstrafe und Folter

25.07.2019 - Artikel

Todesurteile und die Hinrichtung von Menschen gehören noch immer zur Praxis vieler Staaten der Welt. Auch Folter ist weiterhin in vielen Staaten verbreitet. Deutschland setzt sich weltweilt für die Abschaffung dieser grausamen Praktiken ein.

Protestaktion gegen die Todesstrafe.
Protestaktion gegen die Todesstrafe.© dpa/picture-alliance

Weltweit wächst der Widerstand gegen die Todesstrafe; Die Zahl der Staaten, die Hinrichtungen vollstrecken, sinkt. Dennoch gehören Todesurteile und die Hinrichtung von Menschen noch immer zur Praxis vieler Staaten der Welt. Deutschland lehnt die Todesstrafe sowohl aus ethisch-moralischen als auch aus rechtspolitischen Gründen ab und setzt sich weltweit für ihre Abschaffung ein. Auch tritt die Bundesregierung engagiert gegen Folter und Misshandlung ein. Ziel ist die weltweite Abschaffung der Folter und die vollständige Rehabilitation aller Folteropfer.

Für die weltweite Abschaffung der Todesstrafe

Die Todesstrafe ist völkerrechtlich nicht ausdrücklich verboten. Artikel 6 des Internationalen Pakts über bürgerliche und politische Rechte („Zivilpakt“) legt aber völkerrechtlich verbindliche Mindeststandards fest. Danach sind Todesurteile allenfalls für schwerste Verbrechen erlaubt, sofern der Verurteilung ein faires Verfahren vorausging. Die Todesstrafe gegen zur Tatzeit Minderjährige sowie gegen schwangere Frauen ist verboten. Mit der Ratifizierung des zweiten Fakultativprotokolls zum Zivilpakt haben sich zudem 86 Staaten zur Abschaffung der Todesstrafe verpflichtet, darunter alle EU-Staaten. In Europa verpflichtet auch das 2003 in Kraft getretene 13. Zusatzprotokoll zur Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention (EMRK) die Staaten des Europarats, die es unterzeichnet und ratifiziert haben, zur vollständigen Abschaffung der Todessstrafe.

In Europa ist Belarus der letzte Staat, der Hinrichtungen vollstreckt. Auch außerhalb Europas gibt es einen Trend zur Abschaffung der Todesstrafe. So wurde die Todesstrafe in fast allen Staaten Lateinamerikas, aber auch in Zentralasien, Ozeanien und vielen Staaten im südlichen Afrika abgeschafft. Auch in den USA wendet nur noch eine Minderheit der Bundesstaaten die Todesstrafe an. Weltweit haben über 130 Staaten die Todesstrafe abgeschafft oder verzichten auf ihre Anwendung, während etwa 50 Staaten weiterhin Todesurteile vollstrecken.

EU-Politik zur Bekämpfung der Todesstrafe

Die EU verfolgt eine aktive Politik gegen die Todesstrafe. Handlungsgrundlage hierfür sind die Leitlinien für eine Unionspolitik gegenüber Drittstatten betreffend die Todesstrafe. Die Leitlinien definieren die Bekämpfung der Todesstrafe als zentrales menschenrechtliches Anliegen der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP). Außerdem sind dort Grundsätze und Kriterien des praktischen Engagements festgelegt, beispielsweise zur Frage, wann die EU öffentliche Erklärungen abgibt oder in welcher Form sie gegenüber anderen Staaten interveniert. Ziel ist es, die Vollstreckung der Todesstrafe in Einzelfällen zu verhindern und Länder dabei zu unterstützen, die Todesstrafe abzuschaffen oder ihre Anwendung auszusetzen.

UN-Antifolterkonvention

Zwei Hände durch Handschellen gefesselt.
Deutschland setzt sich weltweit gegen Folter und Todesstrafe ein© dpa/picture-alliance

Deutschland ist seit 1990 Vertragsstaat des UN-Übereinkommens gegen Folter und andere grausame, unmenschliche oder erniedrigende Behandlung oder Strafe sowie seit 2009 des Zusatzprotokolls zur UN-Antifolterkonvention. Damit unterliegt Deutschland zum einen der strengen internationalen Kontrolle durch den UN-Unterausschuss gegen Folter, dem die Vertragsstaaten regelmäßig Berichte übersenden müssen, um Rechenschaft über ihre jeweiligen nationalen Maßnahmen zur Einhaltung der Konvention abzulegen. Zum anderen hat sich Deutschland damit verpflichtet, einen im Zusatzprotokoll vorgesehenen Nationalen Präventionsmechanismus einzurichten. In Deutschland ist dies die Nationale Stelle zur Verhütung von Folter.

Europa – Instrumente zur Bekämpfung von Folter

Mit der Verabschiedung der Leitlinien für die Politik der Europäischen Union gegenüber Drittländern betreffend Folter und andere grausame, unmenschliche oder erniedrigende Behandlung oder Strafe 2001 hat die EU ein Instrument zur Verstärkung ihres Engagements zur weltweiten Abschaffung der Folter geschaffen. Ein gemeinsam entwickelter Globaler Aktionsplan, der schwerpunktmäßig während der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft umgesetzt wurde, beinhaltete zahlreiche Demarchen in Drittstaaten, mit denen die EU auf die Problematik der Folteranwendung angesprochen und ihre Abschaffung einfordert hat. Zudem setzt sich die EU in einer gemeinsamen Initiative mit Argentinien und der Mongolei gegen den Handel mit Produkten, die für Folterungen verwendet werden können, ein. Die Abschaffung der Folter ist fester Bestandteil der Dialoge mit Drittstaaten, die die EU als Ganzes und die einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten auf bilateraler Ebene führen. Auch die Bundesregierung ist in ihrem Handeln den EU-Leitlinien verpflichtet. Der Einsatz zugunsten von Einzelfällen steht dabei im Vordergrund.

Europäische Konvention zur Verhütung von Folter und unmenschlicher oder erniedrigender Behandlung oder Strafe

Auch auf der Ebene des Europarats gibt es eine Antifolterkonvention: Die Europäische Konvention zur Verhütung von Folter und unmenschlicher oder erniedrigender Behandlung oder Strafe, die am 1. Februar 1989 in Kraft getreten ist. Die Konvention sieht die Einrichtung eines Komitees aus unabhängigen Sachverständigen vor, das in den Vertragsstaaten die Menschenrechtslage von Personen überprüfen soll, denen die Freiheit entzogen wurde. Dazu besucht das Komitee Haftanstalten, psychiatrischen Anstalten und anderen Einrichtungen, in denen Menschen in Gewahrsam gehalten werden. Die Besuchsberichte, die konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen enthalten, werden mit Zustimmung des betroffenen Staates veröffentlicht.

Sonderberichterstatter der Vereinten Nationen über Folter

Bereits 1985 hat die damalige UN-Menschenrechtskommission einen Sonderberichterstatter für alle Fragen zur Folter eingesetzt. Sein Mandat gilt auch für diejenigen Länder, die die UN-Antifolterkonvention nicht ratifiziert haben. Er berichtet über die Situation in einzelnen Ländern, und macht öffentlichkeitswirksam auf dringende Einzelfälle aufmerksam.

Schlagworte

nach oben