Welcome

Democracy-building aid and election observation

Article

Democratic structures increase stability, because they promote responsible governance and a peaceful balance of interests. Democracy-building aid, particularly in the form of election observation, is therefore a key part of the Federal Foreign Office’s approach to crisis prevention.

Democratic structures increase stability, because they promote responsible governance and a peaceful balance of interests. Democracy-building aid, particularly in the form of election observation, is therefore a key part of the Federal Foreign Office’s approach to crisis prevention.

Afghan women at an election information event
Afghan women at an election information event© picture-alliance/dpa

Democracy-building aid supports the political opinion-forming process and the political participation of all social groups in young and re‑established democracies. It takes the form of

- election observation
- education work
- promotion of political participation and of the independent media
- support for constitutional organs.

The Federal Foreign Office is particularly engaged in the field of election observation, where the aim is to improve the conditions for conducting free and fair elections, thus enhancing confidence in the democratisation process. At the same time, election observation is intended to help prevent manipulation before, during and after elections. International election observation highlights the international community’s interest in a country’s democratic development and is a key instrument for fostering civil and political human rights.

Prerequisites for election observation

Election observation requires that the technical and legal prerequisites for the conduct of democratic elections are in principle fulfilled (independent electoral commission, democratic electoral law, participation of the opposition in the election, freedom of expression and access to the media for all political parties).

Election observers can only be seconded to a given country if its government has invited them in and the mission is coordinated at international level. Germany takes part in international election observation missions coordinated by the OSCE and the EU. Election observation is never carried out on a bilateral basis. German MPs take part in international election observation missions organised by the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, the Council of Europe, NATO and the European Parliament.

Counting votes following parliamentary elections in Iraq, 10 March 2010
Counting votes following parliamentary elections in Iraq, 10 March 2010© picture alliance / dpa

Organisation of election observation

In Germany, the Center for International Peace Operations (Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze, ZIF) in Berlin, in coordination with the Federal Foreign Office, is responsible for selecting and nominating all election observers or candidates for election observation missions. The ZIF was founded in April 2002 by the German Government and the Bundestag, working closely together. Its task is to make a German contribution towards strengthening international civilian capacities for crisis prevention, conflict resolution and post‑conflict peacebuilding. In order to fulfil this mandate, the ZIF is, among other things, responsible for the training of civilian experts and managers for deployment in international peace and observation missions operated by the UN, OSCE and EU. As a rule, only candidates who are part of the ZIF’s pool of experts – and have thus successfully completed a preparatory course – are nominated for an election observation mission. Germans interested in taking part in an election observation mission can go to the ZIF website and apply to take part in a training course and be included in the pool of experts.

Information on election observation (OSCE)

EU election observation missions

The EU undertakes election observation missions in countries which do not belong to the OSCE area. The EU Commission decides which countries have priority in consultation with the competent Council working groups and the European Parliament. The final decision on the sending of an election observation mission is made by the EU Commission on the basis of the findings of a needs assessment mission. Missions are headed by a member of the European Parliament and coordinated by the Commission’s EuropAid Cooperation Office (EuropAid).

The EU Commission selects and seconds the participants for EU election observation missions on the basis of the nominations put forward by the member states. The ZIF nominates the German candidates. Members of an EU election observation mission must already have experience in international election observation missions.

The local German Embassies often prepare the observers for their task, for example by briefing them on the current situation and establishing contact with public figures.

Top of page

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Demokratisierungshilfe und Wahlbeobachtung

Artikel

Demokratische Strukturen erhöhen die Stabilität, da sie friedlichen Interessenausgleich und verantwortliche Regierungsführung fördern. Das Auswärtige Amt setzt bei der Krisenprävention daher auch auf Demokratisierungshilfe - insbesondere in Form von Wahlbeobachtung.

Afghanische Frauen bei einer Info-Veranstaltung zur Wahl© picture-alliance/dpa

Demokratisierungshilfe unterstützt den politischen Willensbildungsprozess und die politische Partizipation aller gesellschaftlichen Gruppen in jungen und wiederhergestellten Demokratien. Hierzu gehört etwa:

  • Wahlbeobachtung
  • Bildungsarbeit
  • Förderung der politischen Partizipation und unabhängiger Medien
  • Unterstützung von Verfassungsorganen.

Das Auswärtige Amt ist insbesondere im Bereich Wahlbeobachtung engagiert. Dabei geht es darum, die Bedingungen für freie und faire Wahlen und somit das Vertrauen in den Demokratisierungsprozess zu verbessern. Gleichzeitig soll die Wahlbeobachtung dazu beitragen, Manipulationen vor, während und nach der Wahl zu verhindern. Internationale Wahlbeobachtung verdeutlicht das Interesse der internationalen Gemeinschaft an der demokratischen Entwicklung eines Landes und stellt eine wichtige Maßnahme zur Förderung der bürgerlichen und politischen Menschenrechte dar.

Voraussetzungen für Wahlbeobachtung

Wahlbeobachtung setzt voraus, dass die technischen und rechtlichen Voraussetzungen für die Abhaltung demokratischer Wahlen im Grundsatz gegeben sind: eine unabhängige Wahlkommission, ein demokratisches Wahlgesetz, die Teilnahme der Opposition an der Wahl, freie Meinungsäußerung und der Zugang zu den Medien für alle politischen Parteien.

Grundlage für die Entsendung von Wahlbeobachtern ist eine entsprechende Einladung der jeweiligen Regierung sowie eine internationale Koordinierung der Mission. Deutschland beteiligt sich an internationalen Wahlbeobachtermissionen der OSZE und der EU. Auf bilateraler Basis werden grundsätzlich keine Wahlbeobachtungen durchgeführt. Deutsche Abgeordnete nehmen an internationalen Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen im Rahmen der Parlamentarischen Versammlung der OSZE, des Europarats, der NATO sowie des Europäischen Parlaments teil.

Organisation der Wahlbeobachtung

Auszählung nach der Parlamentswahl im Irak, 10.03.2010
Auszählung nach der Parlamentswahl im Irak, 10.03.2010© picture alliance / dpa

Auswahl der WahlbeobachterIm Deutschland ist das Zentrum für internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF) in Berlin in Absprache mit dem Auswärtigen Amt für die Auswahl und Benennung aller Wahlbeobachter bzw. Kandidaten für Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen zuständig. Das ZIF wurde im April 2002 in engem Zusammenwirken von Bundesregierung und Bundestag gegründet. Sein Zweck ist es, einen deutschen Beitrag zur Stärkung internationaler ziviler Kapazitäten zur Krisenprävention, Konfliktlösung und Friedenskonsolidierung zu leisten. Zur Erfüllung dieses Zwecks ist das ZIF u.a. für das Training von zivilen Fach- und Führungskräften für den Einsatz bei internationalen Friedens- und Beobachtungseinsätzen der UNO, der OSZE und der EU verantwortlich. In der Regel werden für Wahlbeobachtungen nur Kandidaten nominiert, die Mitglied des ZIF-Expertenpools sind und damit erfolgreich an einem Vorbereitungskurs teilgenommen haben. Deutsche, die sich für eine Teilnahme an einer Wahlbeobachtung interessieren, können sich auf der Webseite des ZIF für die Teilnahme an einem Training und die Aufnahme in den Expertenpool bewerben.

Informationen zur OSZE-Wahlbeobachtung (Englisch)

Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen der EU

Die EU unternimmt Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen in Ländern, die nicht zum OSZE-Raum gehören. Prioritäre Länder für eine EU-Wahlbeobachtungsmission liegt die EU-Kommission nach Konsultation mit den zuständigen Ratsarbeitsgruppen und dem Europäischen Parlament fest. Die endgültige Entscheidung über die Entsendung einer Wahlbeobachtungsmission fällt die Kommission ausgehend von den Ergebnissen einer Bedarfsermittlungsmission. Die Leitung übernimmt ein Abgeordneter des Europäischen Parlaments. Das Büro der EU-Kommission für Zusammenarbeit (Commision's EuropAid Cooperation Office; EuropAid) koordiniert die Durchführung.

Die Auswahl und Entsendung der Teilnehmer in EU-Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen erfolgt durch die EU-Kommission auf Grundlage von Vorschlägen der Mitgliedstaaten. Die Benennung der deutschen Kandidaten erfolgt durch das ZIF . Für die Teilnahme an einer EU-Wahlbeobachtungsmission ist Erfahrung in internationalen Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen erforderlich.

Die deutschen Botschaften vor Ort bereiten die Beobachter häufig auf ihre Aufgabe u.a. durch Briefings zur aktuellen Lage und Vermittlung von Kontakten zu Personen des öffentlichen Lebens vor.