Welcome

Climate and security

The aftermath of tropical storm Tomas in the Dominican Republic in 2010

The aftermath of tropical storm Tomas in the Dominican Republic in 2010, © EPA/ORLANDO BARRIA

Article

Germany is putting the impact of climate change on the agenda of the UN Security Council

Human-induced climate change is not only an environmental phenomenon, but also one of the main security threats of the 21st century. Rising sea levels, more frequent weather extremes and the growing risk of environmental disasters are depriving people of their livelihoods in affected regions to an ever greater extent. Climate change is therefore increasingly becoming a risk multiplier that threatens the stability of countries and societies worldwide.

Climate change as an issue for the UN Security Council

Foreign Minister Maas at the United Nations
Foreign Minister Maas at the United Nations© dpa

In island states and in the Sahel region, the impact of human-induced climate change on stability and security is already very palpable.

Germany is therefore using its membership of the UN Security Council in 2019/2020 to raise awareness within the UN of the impact of climate change on security policy. We started in January of this year by working together with the Dominican Republic to prepare a Security Council debate, during which the member states discussed the impact of climate-related extreme weather events on peace and stability.

The German Security Council initiative on climate and security is an overdue security policy addition to climate policy as a whole. The international community needs to take action in places where climate change poses a threat to people’s livelihoods before conflicts break out or escalate. The Security Council must also be capable of taking action in this regard.

Interplay between prevention and crisis response

The Security Council must therefore be equipped to take concrete action in situations where the impact of climate change exacerbates conflicts. It therefore requires reliable and comprehensive information. To this end, all relevant information must be pooled, processed and evaluated in the UN system. Early warning systems should play a key role in the future here.

The Security Council cannot and should not be a substitute for the established instruments of climate policy. After all, an ambitious climate policy remains the best way to limit climate risks. All countries need to step up their efforts in the area of climate protection, also in the interest of global security and stability. As long as the international community’s climate goals are not sufficient to limit global warming to an acceptable level, they must address the foreign and security policy impact of climate change.

In an effort to advance the discussion on the link between climate and security, Foreign Minister Maas hosted the high-level Berlin Conference on Climate and Security in June 2019. The Call for Action presented at the conference is a road map for concrete, preventive options aimed at tackling security risks caused by climate change at an early stage.

Keywords

Top of page

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Klima und Sicherheit

Folgen des Tropensturms Tomas in der Dominikanischen Republik 2010

Folgen des Tropensturms „Tomas“ in der Dominikanischen Republik 2010, © EPA/ORLANDO BARRIA

22.01.2019 - Artikel

Deutschland setzt Folgen des Klimawandels auf die Agenda des VN-Sicherheitsrats

Der menschengemachte Klimawandel ist nicht nur ein Umweltphänomen, sondern auch eine der zentralen Sicherheitsbedrohungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der steigende Meeresspiegel, häufiger auftretende Wetterextreme und das wachsende Risiko von Umweltkatastrophen entziehen Menschen in betroffenen Regionen zunehmend die Lebensgrundlage. Damit wirken Klimaveränderungen mehr und mehr als „Risikomultiplikatoren“, die weltweit die Stabilität von Staaten und Gesellschaften gefährden.

Klimawandel als Thema für den VN-Sicherheitsrat

Bundesaußenminister Maas bei den Vereinten Nationen
Bundesaußenminister Maas bei den Vereinten Nationen© dpa

In den Inselstaaten oder in der Sahelregion sind die Auswirkungen des menschengemachten Klimawandels auf Stabilität und Sicherheit bereits deutlich spürbar.

Deutschland nutzt seine Mitgliedschaft im Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen 2019/20 daher dazu, das Bewusstsein für die sicherheitspolitischen Folgen des Klimawandels in den Vereinten Nationen zu schärfen. So haben wir zum Auftakt im Januar dieses Jahres gemeinsam mit der Dominikanischen Republik eine Debatte des Sicherheitsrates vorbereitet, bei der die Sicherheitsratsmitglieder die Auswirkungen klimabedingter Extremwetterereignisse auf Frieden und Stabilität diskutierten.

Die deutsche Sicherheitsratsinitiative zum Thema Klima und Sicherheit ist eine überfällige sicherheitspolitische Ergänzung der Klimapolitik insgesamt. Wo der Klimawandel die Lebensgrundlagen von Menschen bedroht, muss die internationale Gemeinschaft ansetzen, bevor Konflikte ausbrechen oder eskalieren. Hier muss auch der Sicherheitsrat tätig werden können.

Zusammenspiel von Prävention und Krisenreaktion

Der Sicherheitsrat muss daher in die Lage versetzt werden, in Situationen, in denen die Folgen des Klimawandels Konflikte verstärken, konkret zu handeln. Aus diesem Grund benötigt er eine gesicherte, umfassende Informationsbasis. Dazu müssen alle relevanten Informationen im System der Vereinten Nationen gebündelt, aufbereitet und analytisch ausgewertet werden. Frühwarnsysteme sollen hier in Zukunft eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Dabei kann und soll der Sicherheitsrat die etablierten Instrumente der Klimapolitik keinesfalls ersetzen. Denn die beste Möglichkeit, Klimarisiken zu begrenzen, bleibt eine ambitionierte Klimapolitik. Auch im Interesse globaler Sicherheit und Stabilität müssen alle Staaten ihre Anstrengungen zum Klimaschutz verstärken. Solange die Klimaziele der Staatengemeinschaft nicht ausreichen, um die Erderwärmung auf ein akzeptables Maß zu begrenzen, müssen sich diese mit den außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Folgen des Klimawandels auseinandersetzen.

Um die Diskussion zum Zusammenhang „Klima und Sicherheit“ voranzutreiben, hatte Außenminister Maas im Juni 2019 zur hochrangigen “Berlin Conference on Climate and Security” eingeladen. Der dabei präsentierte “Call for Action” ist eine Roadmap für konkrete, präventive Handlungsoptionen, um klimawandelbedingten Sicherheitsrisiken frühzeitig zu begegnen.

Schlagworte

nach oben