Welcome

Vocational training and international cooperation in vocational training

Article

Germany’s dual system of vocational training combines theory and practice and is in ever greater demand around the world.

Vocational training is an important factor in economic growth and technological progress. What is more, it offers young people better career prospects and enables them to play a part in society. The dual system of vocational training requires close cooperation between the state, business and social partners, which fits into the structure of the society in question.

A field for many players

Trainee hairdressers
Trainee hairdressers© dpa/picture alliance

The German Government has for decades been engaged in many different ways in international cooperation in the field of vocational training. Various federal ministries as well as the Länder, business associations and German chambers of commerce abroad, companies and other private providers (through the initiative iMOVE: Training - Made in Germany) have launched programmes and are implementing them in the various partner countries.

The Federal Government strategy for one-stop international cooperation in vocational education and training

Since 2013, cooperation has been based on the Federal Government strategy for one-stop international cooperation in vocational education and training (document in German). As one of the four core ministries – alongside the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy – the Federal Foreign Office is responsible for the coordination of the various activities undertaken in other countries. The German missions in key locations abroad thus organise round tables for coordination and exchanges of experience.

The German Office for International Cooperation in Vocational Education and Training (GOVET)

GOVET
GOVET© govet

To implement its strategy, the German Government set up the German Office for International Cooperation in Vocational and Educational Training (GOVET). As a non-partisan institution of the federal ministries, GOVET – which is based at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BiBB) – organises coordination within Germany among the ministries and many other players.

Click here for further information on GOVET

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Berufsbildung und Internationale Berufsbildungskooperation

Artikel

Das deutsche System der dualen Berufsausbildung verbindet Theorie und Praxis und wird weltweit immer stärker nachgefragt.

Auszubildende bei ihrer Lehre zur Friseurin.
Auszubildende bei ihrer Lehre zur Friseurin.© dpa/picture alliance

Die Berufsbildung ist ein wichtiger Faktor für wirtschaftliches Wachstum, technologischen Fortschritt, sie eröffnet jungen Menschen bessere Berufsaussichten und soziale Teilhabe. Voraussetzung für die duale Berufsbildung ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Staat, Wirtschaft und Sozialpartnern, die sich in die Struktur der jeweiligen Gesellschaft einpasst.

Ein Feld für zahlreiche Akteure

Die Bundesregierung engagiert sich seit Jahrzehnten in vielfältiger Weise in der internationalen Berufsbildungskooperation. Verschiedene Bundesministerien sowie die Länder, Wirtschaftsverbände und Auslandshandelskammern, Unternehmen und sonstige private Anbieter (über die Initiative iMOVE: Training - Made in Germany) haben Programme aufgelegt und setzen diese in den verschiedenen Partnerländern um.

Strategie zur internationalen Berufsbildungs-Zusammenarbeit

Grundlage ist seit 2013 die Strategie der Bundesregierung zur internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit aus einer Hand. Das Auswärtige Amt übernimmt als eines der vier Kernressorts – neben dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) und dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) – die Aufgabe der Koordinierung der verschiedenen Aktivitäten im Ausland. Hierfür richten Auslandsvertretungen an besonders betroffenen Orten Runde Tische zur Koordinierung und zum Erfahrungsaustausch ein.

Zentralstelle der Bundesregierung für internationale Berufsbildungskooperation (GOVET)

Govet
Logo Govet© govet

Zur Umsetzung ihrer Strategie hat die Bundesregierung die Zentralstelle der Bundesregierung für internationale Berufsbildungskooperation (GOVET - German Office for International Cooperation in Vocational and Educational Training) eingerichtet. Angesiedelt im Bundesinstitut für Berufliche Bildung (BiBB), organisiert GOVET als ressortübergreifende Institution der Bundesministerien im Inland die Abstimmung zwischen den Ressorts und zahlreichen weiteren Akteuren.

Mehr zum Thema GOVET

nach oben