Welcome

Economy, development, research: using opportunities, removing obstacles

Article

Africa is bursting with potential. Germany is working to use the opportunities for the German and African economies fairly and sustainably.

A seamstress in Kigali works at a sewing machine.
A seamstress in Kigali works at a sewing machine.© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net

No continent is growing as quickly as Africa both in economic and demographic terms. In the last ten years, investment by German businesses has doubled. GDP in Africa has increased by 30% in the same period. The continent's ongoing poor image as far as the economy is concerned has for a long time now been at odds with the dynamic development figures. However, there are stark differences between the 54 countries.

Political instability, corruption and poor infrastructure are a major obstacle to investment in many countries, thus also hampering development and prosperity. Furthermore, many African economies are heavily dependent on the export of raw materials which entails high risks given the price fluctuations on the global market.

A continent on the rise

Engineering training in the Integrated Polytechnic Regional Centre project in Kigali.
Engineering training in the Integrated Polytechnic Regional Centre project in Kigali.© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net
Nevertheless, the growing importance of Africa as a location for business and investment is reflected in global trade. Trade in goods and above all raw materials with the Asia‑Pacific area, particularly China, as well as Europe, North America but also India is growing disproportionately. This is also increasing demand for the expansion of infrastructure such as railways, roads and pipelines and of air traffic. For Germany as an exporting nation, Africa has huge as yet untapped potential.

African regional organisations, for example ECOWAS, are currently pushing forward regional economic integration projects. Shared markets, customs and monetary unions make the regions more attractive to foreign investors and for cooperation. With instruments such as investment and export guarantees, Germany is working to promote a positive economic climate in Africa and is supporting particularly German SME's wanting to engage in Africa.

Strategy for fair growth

Sweetcorn at a market in Sokode, Togo
Sweetcorn at a market in Sokode, Togo© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net
The Federal Government is pursuing a comprehensive strategy for fair and sustainable growth in Africa. German development cooperation plays a key role. The Federal Foreign Office coordinates closely here with the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) as well as with implementing organisations such as KfW and the Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ).

Sustainable growth needs innovation. This is why Germany is working comprehensively in the sphere of education and research in Africa. German scientists are today cooperating with partners from more than 39 African countries in more than 500 research and education establishments. There are also over 550 university cooperation projects. The Federal Foreign Office is supporting the Africa initiatives of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research here.

growth ere.

Find out more:

Federal Minstry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW)

Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

Wirtschaft, Entwicklung, Forschung: Chancen nutzen, Hemmnisse abbauen

Artikel

Afrika strotzt vor Potenzial. Deutschland engagiert sich, um die Chancen für die deutsche und die afrikanische Wirtschaft fair und nachhaltig zu nutzen.

Afrika strotzt vor Potenzialen: Eine junge, wachsende Bevölkerung, reiche Rohstoffvorkommen und kräftige Wachstumsraten. Im Durchschnitt ist der Lebensstandard trotzdem auf keinem Kontinent so niedrig wie hier. Mit welcher Strategie engagiert sich Deutschland, um die Chancen für die deutsche und die afrikanische Wirtschaft fair und nachhaltig zu nutzen?

Eine Schneiderin in Kigali arbeitet an einer Nähmaschine.
Eine Schneiderin in Kigali arbeitet an einer Nähmaschine.© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net

Kein Kontinent wächst wirtschaftlich und demographisch so schnell wie Afrika. In den letzten zehn Jahren haben sich die Investitionen von deutschen Unternehmen verdoppelt. Das afrikanische Bruttoinlandsprodukt ist in der Zeit um 30 Prozent gewachsen. Das schlechte Image, das dem Kontinent in Sachen Wirtschaft anhaftet, passt schon seit Langem nicht mehr zu den dynamischen Entwicklungszahlen. Unter den 54 Ländern gibt es dabei allerdings sehr starke Unterschiede.

Politische Instabilität, Korruption und schlechte Infrastruktur behindern in vielen Staaten massiv Investitionen und damit auch die Entwicklung von mehr Wohlstand. Viele afrikanische Volkswirtschaften sind außerdem stark abhängig vom Rohstoffexport – was bei den schwankenden Preisen auf dem Weltmarkt hohe Risiken mit sich bringt.

Ein Kontinent im Aufbruch

Ingenieursausbildung im Projekt Integrated Polytechnical Reginal Center in Kigali.
Ingenieursausbildung im Projekt Integrated Polytechnical Reginal Center in Kigali.© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net

Trotzdem schlägt sich die wachsende Bedeutung des Wirtschaftsstandorts Afrikas schon im Welthandel nieder. Der Waren- und vor allem Rohstoffhandel mit dem Asien-Pazifikraum - insbesondere China - sowie Europa, Nordamerika, aber auch Indien wächst überproportional. Dies verstärkt zusätzlich die Nachfrage nach dem Ausbau von Infrastruktureinrichtungen wie Eisenbahn und Straßen, Pipelines sowie im Luftverkehr. Für die Exportnation Deutschland warten in Afrika noch riesige unerschlossene Potenziale.

Afrikanische Regionalorganisationen wie beispielsweise ECOWAS treiben derweil regionale wirtschaftliche Integrationsprojekte voran: Gemeinsame Märkte, Zoll- und Währungsunionen machen die Regionen für ausländische Investitionen und Kooperationen attraktiver. Deutschland setzt sich mit Instrumenten wie beispielsweise Investitions- und Exportgarantien für ein positives Wirtschaftsklima in Afrika ein und unterstützt insbesondere mittelständische deutsche Unternehmen, die in Afrika aktiv werden möchten.

Strategie für faires Wachstum

Mais auf einem Markt in Sokode/Togo.
Mais auf einem Markt in Sokode/Togo.© Ute Grabowsky/photothek.net

Die Bundesregierung verfolgt dabei eine umfassende Strategie für ein faires und nachhaltiges Wachstum in Afrika. Eine Schlüsselrolle spielt dabei die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Das Auswärtige Amt stimmt sich darum eng mit dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) sowie Durchführungsorganisationen wie der KfW und der Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) ab.

Nachhaltiges Wachstum braucht Innovationen. Deutschland engagiert sich darum umfassend im Bereich Bildung und Forschung in Afrika. Deutsche Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler kooperieren heute mit Partnern aus über 39 afrikanischen Ländern in über 500 Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen. Zudem bestehen über 550 Hochschulkooperationen. Das Auswärtige Amt unterstützt hierfür die Afrika-Initiativen des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung.

Zum Weiterlesen:

BMZ

GIZ

KfW