G8 / G20 / Powers in shaping globalization

G8 — The Group of Eight

The G8 family photo at the Lough Erne Summit

The Group of Eight (G8) comprises Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States of America; the European Union is also represented. more

G20 – The Group of Twenty

"Family photo" at the G20 Summit in Los Cabos, Mexico

The G20 Heads of State and Government have been meeting in Summit format since autumn 2008. The Summit plays a key role in the coordination of economic and financial policy among industrialized countries and emerging economies. Cooperation among G20 countries is especially vital in times of financial and economic crisis. more