Hauptinhalt

Human rights in the United Nations

Germany actively promotes United Nations human rights activities

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat
© UN Office Geneva

Bild vergrößern
Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Article 1 of the Charter of the United Nations states that protecting human rights is one of the organisation’s prime purposes. The foundation for international human rights protection is the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which was adopted by the General Assembly in 1948. The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, which were adopted in 1966 and entered into force in 1976, were further milestones as regards ensuring binding protection for human rights under international law. 

The Human Rights Council 

The Human Rights Council is the key forum in the United Nations for ensuring that these agreements are observed. It helps member states to uphold human rights, deals with human rights violations and draws up recommendations for the further development of international law in the field of human rights.

The Human Rights Council comprises 47 elected member states and has various instruments at its disposal to work for global respect for human rights. In the Universal Periodic Review (UPR), the Human Rights Council examines the human rights situation in each United Nations member state at five‑yearly intervals. The aim is not merely to check up on states, but also to provide help if there are problems with implementation.  Furthermore, the Human Rights Council can launch special procedures, focusing either on the situation in a particular country or on a specific international human rights issue, and appoint a special rapporteur or a group of independent experts to deal with these matters.

Germany was a founding member of the Human Rights Council. In October 2015, it was elected to the Council for the third time by the General Assembly for the 2016 to 2018 term. During its membership, Germany is working to raise the profile of the Council as a central body and early-warning mechanism for the international protection of human rights. The Human Rights Council must address critical human rights situations systematically and make full use of all of the instruments at its disposal. In 2015, the Human Rights Council was chaired by Ambassador Joachim Rücker, who was Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Office of the United Nations and to the other international organisations in Geneva at the time. Germany used this position to enhance civil society’s role in the Council, boost the Council’s efficiency and effectiveness, and improve the Council’s links with other parts of the United Nations system. 

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights 

The position of United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights was established by the World Conference on Human Rights in Vienna in 1993. Since then, the High Commissioner has led on human rights issues in the United Nations system. The High Commissioner reports directly to the Secretary‑General of the United Nations. He or she can put violations of human rights worldwide on the General Assembly’s agenda and is responsible for joining up all of the United Nation’s human rights activities.

Based in Geneva and New York, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) helps the High Commissioner to fulfil his or her mandate and provides guidance and technical support to governments, national human rights institutions and NGOs.


Last updated 26.06.2017

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Menschenrechte in den Vereinten Nationen

Deutschland macht sich stark für die Menschenrechtsarbeit der Vereinten Nationen

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat
© UN Office Geneva

Bild vergrößern
Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

Abstimmung im Menschenrechtsrat

In Artikel 1 der Charta der Vereinten Nationen ist der Schutz der Menschenrechte als eines ihrer wichtigsten Ziele festgelegt. Das Fundament für den internationalen Menschenrechtsschutz ist die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte, die 1948 von der Generalversammlung verabschiedet wurde. Die 1966 verabschiedeten und 1976 in Kraft getretenen Internationalen Pakte über Bürgerliche und Politische Rechte ("Zivilpakt") und über Wirtschaftliche, Soziale und Kulturelle Rechte ("Sozialpakt") waren weitere Meilensteine für den völkerrechtlich verbindlichen Schutz der Menschenrechte.

Der Menschenrechtsrat der Vereinten Nationen

Um sicherzustellen, dass die Vereinbarungen auch eingehalten werden, ist der Menschenrechtsrat das zentrale Forum in den Vereinten Nationen. Er unterstützt die Mitgliedstaaten dabei, die Menschenrechte einzuhalten, behandelt Menschenrechtsverletzungen und erarbeitet Empfehlungen zur Weiterentwicklung des Völkerrechts auf dem Gebiet der Menschenrechte.

Der Menschenrechtsrat besteht aus 47 gewählten Mitgliedstaaten und hat verschiedene Instrumente zur Verfügung, um sich für die weltweite Wahrung der Menschenrechte einzusetzen. Mit der "Universellen Periodischen Überprüfung" bewertet der Menschenrechtsrat die Lage der Menschenrechte in jedem Mitgliedstaat der Vereinten Nationen im Abstand von fünf Jahren. Dabei geht es nicht nur um Kontrolle, sondern auch um die Bereitstellung von Hilfe bei Umsetzungsproblemen.  Der Menschenrechtsrat kann darüber hinaus Spezialverfahren einleiten, die sich entweder auf die Situation in einem bestimmten Land oder ein bestimmtes internationales Menschenrechtsthema beziehen und hierfür einen Sonderberichterstatter oder eine unabhängige Expertengruppe einsetzen.

Deutschland war Gründungsmitglied im Menschenrechtsrat  und wurde im Oktober 2015 erneut zum dritten Mal von der Generalversammlung für die Jahre 2016 bis 2018 in das Gremium  gewählt. Deutschland setzt sich während seiner Mitgliedschaft dafür ein, das Profil des Rats als zentrales Gremium und Frühwarnmechanismus des internationalen Menschenrechtsschutzes zu schärfen. Der Menschenrechtsrat muss konsequent kritische Menschenrechtssituationen ansprechen und dazu alle ihm verfügbaren Instrumente souverän nutzen. 2015 hatte der damalige Ständige Vertreter Deutschlands bei den Vereinten Nationen in Genf, Botschafter Joachim Rücker, den Vorsitz des Menschenrechtsrats inne. Deutschland nutzte dieses Amt, um die Rolle der Zivilgesellschaft im Rat zu stärken, Effizienz und Effektivität des Rats weiter zu stärken und die Vernetzung des Menschenrechtsrats mit anderen Teilen des UN-Systems zu verbessern.

Der Hochkommissar der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte

Das Amt des UN-Hochkommissars für Menschenrechte (UN High Commissioner for Human Rights – UNHCHR) wurde 1993 durch die Wiener Weltkonferenz über Menschenrechte eingerichtet und trägt seither im System der Vereinten Nationen die Hauptverantwortung für Menschenrechtsfragen. Der UN-Hochkommissar ist direkt dem UN-Generalsekretär unterstellt; er kann Menschen­rechtsverletzungen weltweit auf die Tagesordnung der Generalversammlung der UN bringen und koordiniert und vernetzt alle Menschen­rechts­aktivitäten der UN.

Das Büro des UN-Hochkommissars für Menschenrechte (Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights – OHCHR) mit Sitz in Genf und New York unterstützt den Hochkommissar bei der Erfüllung seines Mandats und leistet Beratung und technische Unterstützung für Regierungen, nationale Menschenrechtsinstitutionen und Nichtregierungs­organisa­tionen.


Stand 26.06.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere