Hauptinhalt

Visual arts and exhibitions

Role of the Federal Foreign Office

Promoting the visual arts and exhibitions is an important part of the Federal Foreign Office’s cultural activities. Such programmes highlight the quality and diversity of Germany’s contemporary arts scene.

The bulk of our cultural budget goes to fund programmes run by partner organizations in the field of cultural relations and education policy such as the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations in Stuttgart (www.ifa.de), the Goethe-Institut in Munich (www.goethe.de) with its cultural institute network as well as the German Academic Exchange Service Berlin (Artists-in-Residence Programme; www.daad-berlin.de).

The remainder is used to fund larger exhibitions on cultural and historical topics staged by German museums abroad as well as German participation in major international art exhibitions and biennales. For the Venice Biennale the Federal Foreign Office appoints the curator of the official German contribution and provides a large share of the funding. On art and exhibition matters we are advised by our Art and Exhibitions Committee, a group of prominent museum directors and art experts.

Funding programmes

The visual arts funding programmes of the Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut and the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations concentrate on presenting and publicizing abroad the work of contemporary German artists. With its extraordinarily lively and creative arts scene, Germany is seen as an important and innovative centre which in this area, too, helps shape trends across Europe and the wider world.

The Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations curates and stages touring exhibitions in the field of the visual arts, photography, art cinema, architecture and design for museums and other exhibitors. The exhibitions it stages around the world are often organized in partnership with the local Goethe-Institut branch as well as in cooperation with museums and other exhibitors in Germany and abroad. The Institute supports projects abroad by contemporary German artists and at its Stuttgart and Berlin galleries shows works by artists from developing and transition countries. Alongside its exhibition programmes in Germany and abroad, the Institute is involved in various activities designed to support, inform about and advise on international arts and cultural exchange.

The Goethe-Institut curates and stages exhibitions on cultural and historical topics and presents exhibitions curated by German museums and galleries at selected venues abroad. In close cooperation with major host-country museums, exhibition centres and galleries, the Goethe-Institut also curates, stages and funds individual and group exhibitions abroad on German art and other topics, which in appropriate venues may be shown at its own galleries. The Goethe-Institut also organizes and sponsors contact-promoting activities (seminars, discussion groups) as well as artist-in-residence programmes abroad for German artists and curators.

Under its Berlin Artists-in-Residence Programme the DAAD awards foreign artists scholarships for an up to one-year stay in Berlin. In due course these artists can show their work at the DAAD gallery in central Berlin. Subsequently many opt to stay on in Germany for a while and as university lecturers or in other ways continue to enrich debate on the arts and the arts scene in Germany.


Last updated 14.02.2013

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Bildende Kunst und Ausstellungen

Aufgaben des Auswärtigen Amts

Die Förderung Bildender Kunst und Ausstellungen gehört zum Kernbereich der kulturellen Programmarbeit. Sie vermittelt ein aktuelles Bild von der hohen Qualität und großen Vielfalt des künstlerischen Schaffens in Deutschland.

Den weitaus größten Anteil des Budgets stellt das Auswärtige Amt den Mittlerorganisationen der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik, dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen in Stuttgart (www.ifa.de), dem Goethe-Institut in München, (www.goethe.de) mit seinem dichten Netz von Kulturinstituten sowie dem DAAD (Berliner Künstlerprogramm; www.daad-berlin.de) zur Durchführung ihrer Programme zur Verfügung.

Die beim Auswärtigen Amt verbleibenden Mittel dienen der Förderung größerer kultur- und zeithistorischer Ausstellungen deutscher Museen im Ausland sowie der deutschen Beteiligung an großen internationalen Kunstausstellungen und -biennalen. Bei der Kunstbiennale in Venedig beruft das Auswärtige Amt den Kurator für den deutschen Beitrag und gewährleistet einen größeren Teil der Finanzierung. In Fragen der Kunst und des Ausstellungswesens lässt sich das Auswärtige Amt auch vom Kunst- und Ausstellungsausschuss, einem Gremium namhafter Museumsdirektoren/Kunstexperten, beraten.

Förderprogramme

Die Förderprogramme des Auswärtigen Amts, des Goethe-Instituts und des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen legen den Schwerpunkt auf die Präsentation und Vermittlung zeitgenössischer bildender Kunst im Ausland. Auch in diesem Bereich gilt Deutschland als ein bedeutendes und innovatives Zentrum, das aktuelle Tendenzen in Europa und in der ganzen Welt mit beeinflusst. Die deutsche Kunstszene zeichnet sich durch außerordentliche Lebendigkeit und Kreativität aus.

Das ifa konzipiert und produziert Tourneeausstellungen zu Bildender Kunst, Fotografie, Künstlerfilm, Architektur und Design für Museen und Ausstellungsinstitutionen. Es verwirklicht Ausstellungstourneen weltweit oft unter Beteiligung der Auslandsinstitute des Goethe-Instituts und kooperiert auch direkt mit Museen und Ausstellungsinstitutionen in Deutschland und im Ausland. Das ifa fördert auch Projekte zeitgenössischer deutscher Künstler/innen im Ausland. Des Weiteren präsentieren die ifa-Galerien in Stuttgart und Berlin Werke bildender Künstler aus Entwicklungs- und Transformationsländern. Das ifa verbindet Ausstellungsprogramme im Ausland und Inland mit Förderangeboten sowie Informations- und Beratungsdienstleistungen im internationalen Kunst- und Kulturaustausch.

Das Goethe-Institut konzipiert und produziert kultur- und zeithistorische Dokumentationsausstellungen und übernimmt bereits kuratierte Ausstellungen deutscher Museen und Galerien für den Einsatz an ausgewählten Orten im Ausland. Darüber hinaus erarbeitet, produziert und finanziert das Goethe-Institut - in enger Zusammenarbeit mit wichtigen Museen, Ausstellungszentren und Galerien vor Ort - Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zur deutschen Kunst und anderen Themen im Ausland. An geeigneten Standorten werden diese Ausstellungen in institutseigenen Galerien präsentiert. Auch organisiert und fördert das Goethe-Institut Begegnungsprogramme (Seminare, Künstlergespräche) sowie Artist-in-Residence-Programme für deutsche Künstler und Kuratoren im Ausland. 

Im Rahmen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms gewährt der DAAD ausländischen bildenden Künstlern Stipendien für einen bis zu einjährigen Aufenthalt in Berlin. Die Stipendiaten können später ihre Kunstwerke in der DAAD-Galerie in Berlin-Mitte ausstellen. Viele Künstler bleiben nach Ablauf ihres Stipendiums noch einige Zeit in Deutschland und bereichern, etwa als Dozenten auf Zeit an deutschen Hochschulen, den künstlerischen Dialog und die Kunstszene.


Stand 14.02.2013

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere