Hauptinhalt

Promoting cinema

Film promotion by the Goethe-Institut abroad

The medium of film enables modern Germany to communicate an exceptionally wide-ranging and powerful image of itself and its culture to a wide, young audience abroad. Even when German films are not immediately addressing developments in Germany, they nevertheless convey an impression of the state of German cinema and of the German people’s view of the world.

The Federal Foreign Office is actively involved in promoting German cinema abroad, particularly through the successful work of the Goethe-Institut in this field. On average around 68 German films are watched by people abroad every day, with an annual total of over two million viewers.

The traditional 35mm festival format has also been made available digitally, so that 70 per cent of film titles are already available on DVD, with subtitles in five to ten languages. The introduction of the DVD format has contributed to making film presentations abroad even better, cheaper and more audience-friendly. Cooperation with German Films Service + Marketing GmbH provides better access to worldwide commercial marketing channels.

Part of the Goethe-Institut’s film work consists in supporting filmmaking in countries in transition, by organising invitations for German films and film directors. Similarly, directors from abroad are offered the opportunity to present their work at German film festivals and network with their European counterparts.

The Goethe-Institut programmes provide a possible springboard for filmmakers as regards distribution in countries whose film marketing is already commercially developed (USA, Australia, Japan, Korea).

In addition, German funding ensures the presence of foreign filmmakers at international festivals, enabling them to attend film-related discussions and workshops and there to engage in dialogue with the German public. Funding also goes to Berlinale Talents, the Berlin International Film Festival’s platform for up‑and-coming creatives in the film industry.

Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents
© Berlinale Talents

Bild vergrößern
Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents

Berlin International Film Festival – Berlinale

The Berlin International Film Festival is now the largest film festival in the world that is open to the public. Up to 400 films – mostly world premieres, or at least European premieres – have been viewed by as many as 400,000 visitors in recent years.

The cinema programme is divided into different sections, each with its own unique profile: big international movies in the Competition, independent and art‑house productions in Panorama; movies specially for a young audience in the Generation section – formerly a children and youth film festival – with a dual programme Generation Kplus and Generation 14plus; the most promising German cinema productions in Perspektive Deutsches Kino, and experimental international films in the Forum.

Contribution by the Federal Foreign Office

The Federal Foreign Office contributes to this highlight of the city’s cultural calendar by supporting “Berlinale Talents”, which was launched in 2003.

Berlinale Talents is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival and one of the pre‑eminent networking platforms worldwide for emerging filmmakers and a key institution for furthering their work. Each year, 300 outstanding creatives from 12 fields – directing, producing, acting, screenwriting, cinematography, editing, production design, film criticism, sales and distributions, score composing and sound design – are invited to attend Berlinale Talents in February. The 300 individuals selected take part in a six‑day programme that incorporates discussions, workshops and networking events.


Last updated 16.01.2015

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Filmförderung

Filmarbeit der Goethe-Institute im Ausland

Der Film ist ein Medium, das besonders umfassend und eindringlich das moderne Deutschland und seine Kultur einem breiten und jungen Publikum im Ausland zugänglich macht. Auch dann, wenn der deutsche Film nicht unmittelbar Entwicklungen in Deutschland behandelt, vermittelt er doch stets einen Eindruck vom Stand deutscher Filmkunst und vom Blick der Deutschen auf die Welt.

Das Auswärtige Amt engagiert sich in der Förderung des deutschen Films im Ausland vor allem über die erfolgreiche Arbeit der Goethe Institute. Durchschnittlich werden an jedem Tag etwa 68 deutsche Filme im Ausland gesehen. Sie erreichen mehr als zwei Millionen Zuschauer pro Jahr.

Das traditionelle 35mm-Festivalformat wurde auch digital verfügbar gemacht, so dass heute bereits 70 Prozent der Filmtitel auf DVD vorliegen, mit fünf bis zehn Untertitelungen. Die Einführung des DVD-Formats hat dazu beigetragen, die Filmvorführungen im Ausland noch besser, kostengünstiger und publikumsnäher zu machen. Eine Kooperation mit German Films erleichtert den Zugang zu weltweiten kommerziellen Vertriebswegen.

Die Filmarbeit der Goethe-Institute unterstützt unter anderem das Filmschaffen in Transformationsländern durch Einladung deutscher Filme und Regisseure. Ebenso wird ausländischen Regisseuren und Filmen bei deutschen Filmfestivals die Möglichkeit zur Präsentation ihrer Werke und zu ihrer europäischen Vernetzung geboten.

Für den Filmmarkt bieten die Programme der Goethe Institute in filmkommerziell entwickelten Ländern (USA, Australien, Japan, Korea) eine Basis, aus der eine kommerzielle Verwertung resultieren kann.

In Deutschland wird außerdem die Präsenz ausländischer Filmemacher bei internationalen Filmfestivals unterstützt, damit diese in Diskussionen und Workshops rund um das Thema Film mit dem deutschen Publikum in den Dialog treten können. Ebenfalls gefördert wird Berlinale Talents, die Plattform für Filmtalente.

Berliner Filmfestspiele - Berlinale

Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents
© Berlinale Talents

Bild vergrößern
Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin haben sich zum meistbesuchten Publikumsfestival im Filmbereich entwickelt. Bis zu 400 Filme – zumeist Welt- oder aber zumindest Europapremieren – wurden von zuletzt fast 400.000 Besuchern gesehen.

Das Kinoprogramm ist in vielfältige Sektionen aufgeteilt: Große internationale Filme im Wettbewerb, Independent- und Arthouse-Filme im Panorama, Kino für ein junges Publikum im Generation Kplus – ehemals Kinderfilmfest – und seinem Programm Generation 14plus, vielversprechende deutsche Produktionen in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino und experimentelle internationale Filme im Forum.

Beteiligung des Auswärtigen Amts

Das Auswärtige Amt beteiligt sich direkt an dem kulturellen Großereignis, indem es die 2003 ins Leben gerufene Initiative "Berlinale Talents" fördert.

Berlinale Talents ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele in Berlin und einer der weltweit wichtigsten Talentförderer und Netzwerkplattformen für aufstrebende Filmemacher. Jedes Jahr werden 300 herausragende Talente aus den 12 Gewerken Regie, Produktion, Schauspiel, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt, Produktionsdesign, Filmkritik, Weltvertrieb, Verleih, Filmmusik und Sounddesign zu Berlinale Talents im Februar eingeladen. Die 300 geladenen Talente haben an sechs Tagen die Möglichkeit an einem umfassenden Programm mit Gesprächsveranstaltungen, Workshops und Netzwerktreffen teilzunehmen.


Stand 05.02.2016

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere