Hauptinhalt

Restoration of the old town and regional development in Balkh, Afghanistan

The town of Balkh, which was known as Bactra in ancient times, dates back to 500 B.C. and is situated some 20 kilometres north-west of Mazar‑e‑Sharif in northern Afghanistan, on what was once the Silk Road. It is regarded as the cradle of Iranian civilisation and has been an important pilgrimage site from time immemorial. 

Over the course of its history, Balkh has been a spiritual centre of Zoroastrianism, Buddhism and Islam respectively. It served as one of Alexander the Great’s northernmost bases from 329 to 327 B.C. It was completely destroyed by the Mongols under Genghis Khan in 1220 and only rebuilt in the fifteenth century under Timurid rule. However, the town’s significance continued to decline, not least as a result of the provincial government’s move to Mazar‑e‑Sharif in 1866.

Extensive restoration

Interior of the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine

Interior of the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine
© AKTC

Bild vergrößern
Interior of the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine

Interior of the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine

Interior of the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine

In addition to supporting restoration and stabilisation work on important buildings such as the Khvajeh Abu Nasr Parsa shrine, the Dehdadi Mosque, the Sudhan Qoli Madrassa Gate, Abu Zaidan Mosque and minaret, and Mir Rusedar and Khvajeh Nizamuddin shrines, the Cultural Preservation Programme of the Federal Foreign Office is funding the restoration of the buildings’ gardens and public spaces. The aim of this major project is to improve local residents’ living conditions and infrastructure in the long term by constructing infrastructure such as roads, sewage systems and waste disposal systems. 

Close involvement of the population

A further part of the project involves training programmes in traditional crafts such as carpentry, bricklaying and the manufacture of glazed tiles. Involving the local population and administration closely at all levels creates cultural identification with the local historical heritage and increases the sense of responsibility for this identity. The project is a good example of how cultural preservation can be achieved in harmony with economic development, modern urban planning and the needs of the local population.

At the suggestion of the Afghan Government, Balkh old town was added to UNESCO’s Tentative List of World Cultural Heritage in 2004.


Last updated 15.06.2016

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Afghanistan: Balkh – Altstadtsanierung und Regionalentwicklung

Die Stadt Balkh (das antike Baktra), bereits besiedelt seit 500 v.Chr., liegt circa 20 km nordwestlich von Masar-e Scharif im Norden von Afghanistan an der historischen Seidenstraße. Sie gilt als eine Wiege der iranischen Zivilisation und war von jeher ein bedeutender Wallfahrtsort. 

Die Stadt wurde in ihrer Geschichte unter anderem spirituelles Zentrum des Zoroastrismus, später vom Buddhismus und zuletzt vom Islam geprägt. Sie diente 329-327 v.Chr. Alexander dem Großen als eine seiner nördlichsten Basen und erfuhr 1220 eine völlige Zerstörung durch die Mongolen unter Dschingis Khan. Erst unter der Herrschaft der Timuriden erfolgte im 15. Jahrhundert ein Wiederaufbau. Balkh verlor jedoch immer mehr an Bedeutung, nicht zuletzt durch den Umzug der Provinzregierung nach Masar-e Scharif im Jahr 1866.

Umfassende Restaurierungsarbeiten

Khwaja Parsa Schrein von innen

Khwaja Parsa Schrein von innen
© AKTC

Bild vergrößern
Khwaja Parsa Schrein von innen

Khwaja Parsa Schrein von innen

Khwaja Parsa Schrein von innen

Das Kulturerhalt-Programm des Auswärtigen Amts unterstützt neben Restaurierungs- und Stabilisierungsarbeiten an bedeutenden Bauwerken wie dem Khwaja Parsa Schrein, der Dehdadi Moschee, dem Subhan Qoli Madrassa Tor, dem Minarett und der Moschee Zaydan, der Mir Ruzedar und Khwaja Nizamuddin Schreine auch die Herrichtung der jeweils dazugehörenden Gärten bzw. des öffentlichen Raums. Ziel dieses Großprojekts ist die nachhaltige Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen und Infrastruktur der Anwohner durch den Ausbau von Infrastruktur zum Beispiel in den Bereichen Straßenbau, Kanalisation oder Müllentsorgung. 

Feste Einbindung der Bevölkerung

Ein weiterer Teil umfasst Ausbildungsprogramme im traditionellen Handwerk wie Zimmer- und Maurerarbeiten sowie die Herstellung von glasierten Kacheln. Durch die feste Einbindung der lokalen Bevölkerung und der örtlichen Verwaltung auf allen Ebenen werden die Schaffung einer kulturellen Identität mit dem eigenen historischen Erbe und eine Steigerung des Verantwortungsbewusstseins dafür erreicht. Das Projekt ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, dass Kulturerhalt im Einklang mit wirtschaftlicher Fortentwicklung, moderner Stadtplanung und den Bedürfnissen der Einwohnerschaft gelingen kann.

Die Altstadt von Balkh wurde 2004 auf Vorschlag der afghanischen Regierung in die vorläufige Weltkulturerbeliste der UNESCO aufgenommen.


Stand 15.06.2016

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere