Hauptinhalt

Brazil: Restoration of a synagogue in São Paulo

The Beth El synagogue in São Paulo

The Beth El synagogue in São Paulo
© Fernando Siqueira

Bild vergrößern
The Beth El synagogue in São Paulo

The Beth‑El synagogue in São Paulo

The Beth El synagogue in São Paulo

Funding from the Cultural Preservation Programme of the Federal Foreign Office made it possible to restore the Beth‑El synagogue, built in 1929 and inaugurated in 1932 in the centre of São Paulo, to its former glory.

The biggest city in the southern hemisphere with the longest traffic jams, the greatest number of helicopters, the best restaurants, the biggest German centre of industry in the world – São Paulo is a megalopolis, a city of superlatives. And right at the heart of its once run‑down centre there is yet another superlative, namely the most important Jewish sacred building in Brazil, the former Beth‑El synagogue.


Revival of the centre of São Paulo

Beth‑El was restored with funds from the Cultural Preservation Programme of the Federal Foreign Office and is now an integral part of the first Jewish museum in Brazil currently under construction. The museum complex will, moreover, be part of the work already begun to restore and revive the city centre. 

Amongst other things, the original plaque of architect Samuel Roder has been uncovered, along with a stone model of the building and above all, the original materials and colours, all so that the Synagogue can shine not only with a renewed freshness, but also in its original glory. Along with the façade, the magnificent dome in Byzantine style and the stained glass windows, the wooden altar with its Torah shrine and the original benches dating back to 1932 were restored.



A German-Brazilian symbiosis

“The German restoration of the synagogue is a quantum leap,” commented the museum’s Director, Roberta Sundfeld, and “it has already attracted sponsors to the museum.” In this case, the Cultural Preservation Programme is not just living up to its name, it has provided the impetus for new projects and is thus a beautiful German-Brazilian symbiosis, symbolising the vibrant history of the centre of São Paulo.


Last updated 09.06.2015

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Brasilien: Restaurierung einer Synagoge in São Paulo

Die Synagoge Beth-El in Sao Paulo

Die Synagoge Beth-El in Sao Paulo
© Fernando Siqueira

Bild vergrößern
Die Synagoge Beth-El in Sao Paulo

Die Synagoge Beth-El in Sao Paulo

Die Synagoge Beth-El in Sao Paulo

Mit Mitteln aus dem Kulturerhalt-Programm des Auswärtigen Amtes konnte die 1929 erbaute und 1932 eröffnete Synagoge Beth-El im Zentrum von São Paulo restauriert werden und erstrahlt nun wieder in neuem Glanz.

Die größte Stadt der südlichen Hemisphäre, die längsten Staus, die meisten Helikopter, die besten Restaurants, der größte deutsche Industriestandort weltweit - São Paulo ist eine Megalopolis, eine Stadt der Superlative. Mittendrin, im lange vernachlässigten Stadtzentrum, steht ein weiterer Superlativ: Der bedeutendste jüdische Sakralbau Brasiliens, die ehemalige Synagoge Beth-El. 

Wiederaufwertung des Stadtzentrums

Beth-El wurde aus Mitteln des Kulturerhalt-Programms des Auswärtigen Amtes restauriert und ist nun integraler Bestandteil des im Bau befindlichen ersten jüdischen Museums in Brasilien. Der Museumskomplex soll darüber hinaus auch zur bereits begonnenen Sanierung und Wiederaufwertung des Stadtzentrums beitragen.

Bei den aufwändigen Restaurationsarbeiten an der Synagoge wurden unter anderem das Original der Grundsteinlegungsplatte des Architekten Samuel Roder, ein Steinmodell des Baus und vor allem die ursprünglichen Materialien und Farben freigelegt. So kann die Synagoge nun nicht nur in neuem, sondern sogar in originalgetreuem Glanz neu erstrahlen. Neben der Fassade, der prachtvollen Kuppel im byzantinischen Stil und der Bleiglasfenster wurden auch der hölzerne Altar mit Thoraschrein und die Originalbänke von 1932 restauriert.

Eine deutsch-brasilianische Symbiose

"Die deutsche Restauration der Synagoge ist ein Quantensprung", so Museumsdirektorin Roberta Sundfeld, "und hat bereits Sponsoren für das Museum angezogen". In diesem Fall wird das Kulturerhalt-Programm somit nicht nur seinem Namen gerecht, sondern stößt neue Projekte an – eine schöne deutsch-brasilianische Symbiose, die sinnbildlich für die bewegte Geschichte des Stadtzentrums von São Paulo steht.


Stand 09.06.2015

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere