Hauptinhalt

Namibia: preserving historic audio recordings

Namibia has a rich pop music heritage. The Federal Foreign Office supports a project to preserve historic audio recordings. 

During decades of apartheid, not only did Namibian pop music receive no funding from government agencies, it was also controlled and in some cases even suppressed. Many audio recordings were often not kept for posterity at all or were saved only on private, fragile storage media, such as audio cassettes. This musical heritage was in danger of disappearing altogether. 

Preserving musical testimonies for future generations

The founders of the Stolen Moments Namibia Music History Untold research group, Aino Moongo and Baby Doeseb, set themselves the task of preserving these musical testimonies of the apartheid era for future generations. The Federal Foreign Office provided around 50,000 euros for this project within the framework of its Cultural Preservation Programme. 

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu at the ceremony to celebrate the completion of the project

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu at the ceremony to celebrate the completion of the project
© Sabine Linn

Bild vergrößern
The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu at the ceremony to celebrate the completion of the project

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu at the ceremony to celebrate the completion of the project

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu at the ceremony to celebrate the completion of the project

The technical equipment for digitising the recordings was provided within the context of the project. A German expert travelled to the country to train Namibian audio technicians, who then digitised numerous recordings and transferred the data to a music database. The digitisation of the music storage media has now been largely completed. An important part of Namibian music history has thus been made accessible both to researchers and to the general Namibian public. Not only academics but also the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) and the National Archives of Namibia have access to the music via the database and are helping to revive knowledge about this musical genre, which was almost lost. 

Aldred Dreyer, Chief Technology Officer at NBC, is happy: “The project is of great significance for the country and for NBC, and has helped preserve Namibia’s rich cultural heritage.” 


Last updated 22.02.2016

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Namibia: Erhalt historischer Tonaufnahmen

Namibia verfügt über ein reiches Erbe an Popmusik. Das Auswärtige Amt unterstützte ein Projekt zum Erhalt historischer Tonaufnahmen.

Namibische Popmusik wurde den Jahrzehnten der Apartheid von staatlichen Stellen nicht nur nicht gefördert, sondern kontrolliert und teilweise sogar unterdrückt. Viele Tonaufnahmen wurden häufig gar nicht oder nur auf privaten fragilen Speichermedien, z.B. Tonkassetten, für die Nachwelt aufbewahrt. Dieses Musikerbe lief Gefahr, ganz zu verschwinden. 

Musikalische Zeugnisse für zukünftige Generationen erhalten

Die Gründer der "Stolen Moments Namibia Music History Untold"-Forschungsgruppe, Aino Moongo und Baby Doeseb, haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, diese musikalischen Zeugnisse der Apartheid-Zeit für zukünftige Generationen zu erhalten. Das Auswärtige Amt unterstützte das Stolen-Moments-Projekt im Rahmen seines Kulturerhalt-Programms mit rund 50.000 Euro.

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu bei der Abschlussfeier des Projekts

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu bei der Abschlussfeier des Projekts
© Sabine Linn

Bild vergrößern
The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu bei der Abschlussfeier des Projekts

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu bei der Abschlussfeier des Projekts

The Original Jazz Masters and Erna Chimu bei der Abschlussfeier des Projekts

Im Rahmen des Projektes wurde die technische Ausrüstung zur Digitalisierung der Aufnahmen bereitgestellt. Ein deutscher Experte bildete vor Ort namibische Tontechniker aus, die die Digitalisierung von zahlreichen Tonaufnahmen und den Datentransfer in eine Musikdatenbank vornahmen. Mittlerweile ist die Digitalisierung der Musikdatenträger weitgehend abgeschlossen, sodass ein wichtiger Teil der namibischen Musikgeschichte einerseits für die Forschung und andererseits für die namibische Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden konnte. Über die Datenbank haben nicht nur Wissenschaftler, sondern auch die Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) und das Nationalarchiv von Namibia darauf Zugriff und sorgen für eine Wiederbelebung des Wissens um diese fast verloren gegangene Musikrichtung.  

Aldred Dreyer, Chief Technology Operations bei NBC zeigt sich zufrieden: "Das Projekt ist von großer Bedeutung für das Land und für NBC und trägt zum Erhalt von Namibias reichem kulturellen Erbe bei."


Stand 22.02.2016

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere