Hauptinhalt

15th anniversary of the Center for International Peace Operations


Since 2002, the Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF) has played a key role in the secondment of German experts. It has recently been expanded into a full sending organisation, and the revised Secondment Act has created a solid legal basis for its activities. Speaking at the event marking the anniversary on Tuesday (21 June), Minister of State Michael Roth praised ZIF as an important part of Germany’s modern peace diplomacy.

In his speech, Roth said: “If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today.”

In his speech, Roth said: “If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today.”
© Jonas Wresch

Bild vergrößern
In his speech, Roth said: “If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today.”

In his speech, Roth said: “If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today.”

In his speech, Roth said: “If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today.”

73 peace missions around the world 

Around the globe, there are currently 11 major conflicts that claim more than 1000 lives per year – as well as numerous smaller conflicts. 73 peace missions are responding, working first to contain them and later to keep the peace. Because Germany’s foreign policy is first and foremost peace policy, actively contributing to these peace missions is a chief priority of German diplomacy. Germany provides financial support – for example, as the fourth-largest contributor to the UN peacekeeping budget. However, Germany’s engagement also includes seconding German experts to these same peace missions.

Experts more urgently needed than ever 

With a staff of 50, ZIF is responsible for seconding experts to, and qualifying them for, peace missions. It also draws up analyses and concept papers on peacebuilding and peacekeeping. Some 150 experts, so-called secondees, are currently serving in the field via ZIF. They are deployed on, among others, OSCE, EU, UN and NATO missions. In his speech, Minister of State Michael Roth paid tribute to the role played by ZIF:

If ZIF didn't exist, we would have to invent it today. After all, in this world full of crises and conflicts, civilian experts are needed more urgently than ever. Your work and experience, colleagues, is extremely valuable. Day in, day out, you are helping to defuse crises or - even better - to prevent conflicts emerging in the first place. And you are doing so all over the world.

Thanking the German Bundestag 

Roth also thanked all parliamentary groups in the German Bundestag for their support and emphasised how important the revised Secondment Act is for the seconded experts themselves: 

The law is a milestone in legal protection and social insurance for civilian personnel. We want to pay them a fair salary for their work and to ensure that they are covered as well as possible in their difficult and often dangerous missions.

Find out more:

Speech by Minister of State Michael Roth on the occasion of the 15th anniversary of the founding of the Center for International Peace Operations (27 June 2017)

UN peace missions and Germany’s engagement

www.zif-berlin.org


Last updated 28.06.2017

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

15 Jahre Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze

Seit dem Jahr 2002 spielt das Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF) eine zentrale Rolle bei der Entsendung deutscher Expertinnen und Experten. Kürzlich wurde es zu einer vollwertigen Entsendeorganisation ausgebaut und mit dem Sekundierungsgesetz eine solide rechtliche Grundlage für seine Arbeit geschaffen. Staatsminister Michael Roth würdigte das ZIF bei der Jubiläumsfeier am Dienstag (27.06.) als wichtigen Bestandteil der modernen deutschen Friedensdiplomatie.

Staatsminister Roth in seiner Ansprache: "Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe - wir müssten es heute erfinden."

Staatsminister Roth in seiner Ansprache: "Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe - wir müssten es heute erfinden."
© Jonas Wresch

Bild vergrößern
Staatsminister Roth in seiner Ansprache: "Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe - wir müssten es heute erfinden."

Staatsminister Roth in seiner Ansprache: "Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe - wir müssten es heute erfinden."

Staatsminister Roth in seiner Ansprache: "Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe - wir müssten es heute erfinden."

73 Friedensmissionen weltweit

11 Großkonflikte mit jeweils über 1000 Toten jährlich herrschen derzeit auf der Welt – zusätzlich zu einer Vielzahl kleinerer Konflikte. Dagegen stemmen sich 73 Friedensmissionen, um Konflikte einzudämmen und danach den Frieden zu sichern. Da sich deutsche Außenpolitik in erster Linie als Friedenspolitik definiert, ist der aktive Beitrag zu diesen Friedensmissionen für die deutsche Diplomatie so wichtig. Deutschland nimmt diese Verantwortung einerseits finanziell wahr – etwa als viertgrößter Beitragszahler des UN-Peacekeeping-Budgets. Andererseits spiegelt sich das Engagement auch in der Entsendung deutscher Fachkräfte in ebendiese Friedensmissionen.

Dringender denn je gebraucht

Das ZIF mit seinen 50 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern ist sowohl für die Entsendung als auch die Qualifizierung von Fachkräften für Friedenseinsätze zuständig und erarbeitet Analysen und Konzepte zu Peacebuildung und Peacekeeping. Rund 150 Expertinnen und Experten, sogenannte Sekundierte, sind derzeit über das ZIF im Feld – etwa in Einsätzen der OSZE, EU, UN oder NATO. Staatsminister Michael Roth würdigte in seiner Laudatio die Rolle des ZIF:

Wenn es das ZIF nicht gäbe – wir müssten es heute erfinden. Denn in dieser Welt voller Krisen und Konflikte werden zivile Expertinnen und Experten mehr denn je dringend gebraucht. Ihre Arbeit und Erfahrung, liebe Kolleginnen und Kollegen, ist ein unermesslicher Schatz: Tag für Tag helfen Sie dabei, Krisen zu entschärfen oder – noch besser – Konflikte gar nicht erst entstehen zu lassen. Und das überall auf der Welt.

Dank an den Bundestag

Roth dankte auch dem Deutschen Bundestag für die fraktionsübergreifende Unterstützung und betonte die Bedeutung des neuen Sekundierungsgesetzes für die entsandten Fachkräfte:

Das Gesetz ist ein Meilenstein in der rechtlichen und sozialen Absicherung unseres Zivilpersonals. Wir wollen sie für ihre Arbeit angemessen bezahlen und dafür sorgen, dass sie in ihren schwierigen und oftmals gefährlichen Missionen bestmöglich abgesichert sind.

Zum Weiterlesen:

Rede von Staatsminister Michael Roth zum 15. Jahrestag der Gründung des Zentrums für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (27.06.17)

UN-Friedensmissionen und deutsches Engagement

www.zif-berlin.org


Stand 28.06.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere