Hauptinhalt

Yemen

The difficulties in Yemen, a country characterised by extreme poverty, natural disasters and internal conflict, have been further exacerbated since March 2015 by ongoing struggles and bombardments and the resulting humanitarian consequences, making it one of the most serious humanitarian crises in the world. Given the lack of media presence and public awareness resulting in a shortage of donations, only a fraction of the humanitarian need can actually be covered. The Federal Foreign Office is supporting emergency projects run by German non-governmental organisations, the United Nations and the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement to ensure those in need survive.

Humanitarian need in Yemen

The impact of food insecurity in Yemen is critical.

The impact of food insecurity in Yemen is critical.
© DRK

Bild vergrößern
The impact of food insecurity in Yemen is critical.

The impact of food insecurity in Yemen is critical.

The impact of food insecurity in Yemen is critical.

Of Yemen’s 27.4 million inhabitants, more than half require humanitarian assistance. 18.8 million people, of which 10.3 million are children, are affected by food insecurity, a lack of access to elementary healthcare and the direct impact of armed conflict.

Food insecurity creates a critical situation. Yemen has the world’s third highest level of malnourishment which according to OCHA manifests itself in 12% of the population suffering from malnutrition. The consequences of this malnourishment and the resulting susceptibility to epidemics are further exacerbated by the lack of access to healthcare, clean drinking water and sanitary facilities. In early 2017, cholera outbreaks have been reported in 15 governorates. UNICEF reports that a child dies of preventable disease every ten minutes make plain just how disastrous the humanitarian situation is.

The most pressing needs of the Yemeni population are food, healthcare, reliable access to clean drinking water, sanitary facilities as well as protective measures. Above all, the 2.2 million internally displaced persons most of whom live in precarious conditions are in severe need of humanitarian assistance, also given the harsh weather conditions. 

Violations of international humanitarian law hamper the provision of the humanitarian aid that is required. Restricted access, attacks on humanitarian aid workers and administrative hurdles make it more difficult for the aid which is so urgently needed to get through. Alongside providing for the people’s most pressing needs, a further focus is on the coordinated efforts of the United Nations to uphold international humanitarian law and to prevent further human rights violations. 

Germany’s humanitarian aid

Single mothers and their children suffer particularly from the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.

Single mothers and their children suffer particularly from the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.
© ICRC/Mohammed Yaseen

Bild vergrößern
Single mothers and their children suffer particularly from the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.

Single mothers and their children suffer particularly from the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.

Single mothers and their children suffer particularly from the humanitarian crisis in Yemen.

The Federal Foreign Office has been providing humanitarian assistance since before the acute humanitarian crisis began in Yemen, contributing to international and cross-sectoral aid projects run by the United Nations, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and German NGOs. The Humanitarian Response Plan coordinated and prioritised by the United Nations provides the framework here. In 2016, the Federal Foreign Office significantly increased humanitarian assistance for Yemen and made available some 33.3 million euros for humanitarian aid measures. Furthermore, 1.4 million euros have been used for crisis management as part of the support we provide for political processes. 

The strategic priorities of Germany’s humanitarian assistance in Yemen are in line with need and focus primarily on areas with the highest vulnerability assessment. 

Also in 2017, humanitarian assistance for the people in Yemen will continue to be a priority of German foreign policy. 


Last updated 25.01.2017

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Jemen

Die von extremer Armut, Naturkatastrophen und internen Konflikten geprägte Lage in Jemen ist seit März 2015 durch andauernde Kämpfe und Bombardements und der daraus folgenden humanitären Konsequenzen zu einer der kritischsten humanitären Krisen weltweit geworden. Aufgrund fehlender medialer Präsenz, geringer öffentlicher Wahrnehmung und daraus resultierender Spendenknappheit kann der humanitäre Bedarf nur zu einem Bruchteil gedeckt werden. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert Nothilfeprojekte deutscher Nichtregierungsorganisationen, der Vereinten Nationen und der Internationalen Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmondbewegung um das Überleben der Menschen in Not zu sichern.

Humanitärer Bedarf im Jemen

Die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit in Jemen sind kritisch.

Die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit in Jemen sind kritisch.
© DRK

Bild vergrößern
Die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit in Jemen sind kritisch.

Die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit in Jemen sind kritisch.

Die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit in Jemen sind kritisch.

Von insgesamt 27,4 Millionen Einwohnern Jemens benötigt über die Hälfte humanitäre Hilfe. 18,8 Millionen Menschen, davon 10,3 Millionen Kinder, sind von Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit, fehlendem Zugang zu elementarer Gesundheitsversorgung sowie den direkten Folgen von bewaffneten Auseinandersetzungen betroffen.

Besonders kritisch sind die Folgen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit. Jemen weist weltweit die dritthöchste Rate von Unterernährung auf, was laut OCHA derzeit eine Mangelernährung bei 12 Prozent der Bevölkerung bedeutet. Durch fehlenden Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung, sauberem Trinkwasser und sanitären Einrichtungen werden die Folgen von Mangelernährung und damit die Anfälligkeit für Epidemien zusätzlich verschärft. Anfang 2017 sind bereits 15 Gouvernorate vom Ausbruch der Cholera betroffen. Das Zusammenwirken dieser desaströsen humanitären Lage wird deutlich, indem nach Berichten von UNICEF alle 10 Minuten ein Kind an vermeidbaren Krankheiten stirbt.

Die dringendsten Bedarfe liegen für die jemenitische Bevölkerung in der Ernährung, der Gesundheitsversorgung, sicherem Zugang zu Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen sowie in Schutzmaßnahmen. Insbesondere die 2,2 Millionen Binnenvertriebenen, die unter meist prekären Bedingungen leben, benötigen akute humanitäre Hilfsmaßnahmen, auch mit Blick auf die harschen Witterungsbedingungen.

Die erfolgreiche Durchführung der erforderlichen humanitären Hilfsmaßnahmen wird jedoch durch Verletzungen des humanitären Völkerrechts erschwert. Zugangsbeschränkungen, Angriffe auf humanitäre Helfer und administrative Einschränkungen behindern die so dringend benötigten Hilfeleistungen. Ein weiterer humanitärer Schwerpunkt neben der Deckung der dringendsten Bedarfe besteht daher in den koordinierten Bemühungen der Vereinten Nationen zur Einhaltung des humanitären Völkerrechts und zur Verhinderung weiterer Menschenrechtsverletzungen.

Deutsche humanitäre Hilfe

Alleinerziehende Frauen und ihre Kinder sind von der humanitären Krise in Jemen besonders betroffen.

Alleinerziehende Frauen und ihre Kinder sind von der humanitären Krise in Jemen besonders betroffen.
© ICRC/Mohammed Yaseen

Bild vergrößern
Alleinerziehende Frauen und ihre Kinder sind von der humanitären Krise in Jemen besonders betroffen.

Alleinerziehende Frauen und ihre Kinder sind von der humanitären Krise in Jemen besonders betroffen.

Alleinerziehende Frauen und ihre Kinder sind von der humanitären Krise in Jemen besonders betroffen.

Mit der Förderung von länder- und sektorübergreifenden Hilfsprojekten der Vereinten Nationen, der Internationalen Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmondbewegung und deutscher Nichtregierungsorganisationen leistet das Auswärtige Amt schon seit vor Beginn der akuten Krise humanitäre Hilfe im Jemen. Den Rahmen gibt dabei der durch die Vereinten Nationen koordinierte und priorisierte humanitäre Bedarfsplan vor. Das Auswärtige Amt hat 2016 die humanitäre Hilfe für Jemen deutlich erhöht und rund 33,3 Millionen Euro für humanitäre Hilfsmaßnahmen zur Verfügung gestellt. Außerdem wurden 1,4 Millionen Euro für Krisenbewältigung im Rahmen von Unterstützung politischer Prozesse eingesetzt.

Die strategischen Schwerpunkte der deutschen humanitären Hilfe im Jemen entsprechen hierbei dem Bedarfsprofil und beziehen sich vorrangig auf Gebiete mit der höchsten Vulnerabilitätsrate.

Humanitäre Hilfe für die Menschen im Jemen wird auch 2017 ein Schwerpunkt deutscher Auslandspolitik sein.


Stand 25.01.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere