Hauptinhalt

Somalia

As a consequence of the long years of civil war in Somalia as well as frequent natural disasters such as droughts and flooding, the humanitarian situation in the Horn of Africa is among the most problematic in the world.

Background

Since the overthrow of President Siad Barre in 1991, Somalia has gone from one crisis to the next. The combined effect of the civil war, the absence of state authority in wide swathes of the country, clashes between the clans and warlords competing for supremacy, and the activities of the radical Islamist group Al‑Shabaab (“youth”), above all in southern and central Somalia, was to make the country a failed state.

When the transitional period expired in August 2012, it was possible for political progress to be made through the formation of a new transitional parliament, the adoption of a provisional constitution, the election of President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud and the formation of a new government. Furthermore, the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM) has assumed control of several important cities in southern and central Somalia since 2011. Humanitarian players, who were previously often prevented from entering these regions of Somalia by Al‑Shabaab, are now once again generally better able to gain access to them.

Humanitarian situation

To compound the politically fragile situation in Somalia, the Horn of Africa is regularly visited by natural disasters such as droughts and flooding. In 2011 the entire Horn of Africa suffered its worst drought in 60 years following a prolonged failure of rains. As a result, basic foodstuffs were in limited supply, prices rose steeply, people lacked access to clean drinking water and were deprived of their livelihoods. For around 250,000 people, all help came too late.

The drought of 2011 sparked huge migrations into neighbouring countries and to the capital Mogadishu. At present some 1.1 million people in Somalia are considered internally displaced persons (IDPs) and a further 1 million Somalis are leading precarious lives as refugees, above all in Kenya and Ethiopia, as well as in Yemen. Current figures are available at www.unhcr.org . The host countries cannot provide for the refugees without international aid.

Humanitarian needs and German humanitarian assistance

Somali refugees in Dollo Ado

Somali refugees in Dollo Ado
© dpa/picture alliance

Bild vergrößern
Somali refugees in Dollo Ado

Somali refugees in Dollo Ado

Somali refugees in Dollo Ado

OCHA, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, estimated that 863 million US dollars of aid would be required in Somalia in 2015 – one of the largest sums for anywhere in the world. In addition, UNHCR has its estimates for assistance required by refugees in the camps in neighbouring countries.

The Federal Foreign Office has for many years provided humanitarian assistance in the Horn of Africa, with a focus on Somalia and Somali refugees. Between 2010 and 2013, projects in the region received more than 45 million euros of funding. In 2014 the volume of humanitarian assistance from the Federal Foreign Office for people affected by the conflict in Somalia amounted to approximately 10.6 million euros. Of this, almost 5 million euros went to support internally displaced persons within Somalia.


Last updated 26.03.2015

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Somalia

Die humanitäre Lage am Horn von Afrika gehört aufgrund des langjährigen Bürgerkriegs in Somalia, aber auch wegen häufiger Naturkatastrophen wie Dürren und Überschwemmungen zu den problematischsten weltweit.

Hintergründe

Seit dem Sturz des Präsidenten Siad Barre 1991 befindet sich Somalia in einer Dauerkrise. Der Bürgerkrieg, die in weiten Teilen des Landes fehlende Regierungsgewalt, Kämpfe um die Vorherrschaft konkurrierender Clans und "warlords" sowie die Aktivitäten der radikalislamistischen Al-Shabaab ("Jugend") vor allem in Süd- und Zentralsomalia haben das Land zu einem "failed stated" gemacht. 

Mit dem Ende der Übergangsperiode im August 2012 konnten durch die Einsetzung eines neuen Übergangsparlaments, der Verabschiedung einer vorläufigen Verfassung, der Wahl des Präsidenten Hassan Sheikh Mohamud und der Bildung einer Regierung erste politische Fortschritte erzielt werden. Darüber hinaus hat die Mission der Afrikanischen Union in Somalia (AMISOM) seit 2011 in einigen wichtigen Städten in Süd- und Zentralsomalia die Kontrolle übernommen. Der Zugang humanitärer Akteure zu diesen Regionen Somalias, der von Al-Shabaab zuvor häufig verwehrt worden war, ist nun grundsätzlich wieder stärker gegeben.

Humanitäre Lage

Zusätzlich zur politisch extrem fragilen Situation in Somalia wird das Horn von Afrika regelmäßig von Naturkatastrophen wie Dürren und Überschwemmungen getroffen. 2011 war das gesamte Horn von Afrika infolge mehrerer ausgefallener Regenzeiten von der schwersten Dürre seit 60 Jahren beherrscht. Die Folge waren eingeschränkte Verfügbarkeit von Grundnahrungsmitteln, stark steigende Preise, fehlender Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser und das Wegbrechen der Lebensgrundlagen der Bevölkerung. Für etwa 250.000 Menschen kam damals jede Hilfe zu spät.

Die Dürre 2011 zog enorme Migrationsbewegungen in angrenzende Länder und in die Hauptstadt Mogadischu nach sich. Gegenwärtig sind noch immer etwa 1,1 Millionen Menschen in Somalia binnenvertrieben, etwa 1 Million Somalier leben als Flüchtlinge unter prekären Bedingungen vor allem in Kenia und Äthiopien sowie im Jemen. Aktuelle Zahlen hält das Flüchtlingshilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR) bereit. Die Aufnahmeländer können die Unterstützung der Flüchtlinge allein nicht leisten und sind auf  internationale Hilfe angewiesen.

Humanitärer Bedarf und deutsche Humanitäre Hilfe

Somalische Flüchtlinge in Dolo Ado

Somalische Flüchtlinge in Dolo Ado
© dpa / picture alliance

Bild vergrößern
Somalische Flüchtlinge in Dolo Ado

Somalische Flüchtlinge in Dolo Ado

Somalische Flüchtlinge in Dolo Ado

OCHA, das Amt für die Koordinierung humanitärer Angelegenheiten der Vereinten Nationen, hat in Somalia für das Jahr 2015 mit 863 Millionen US-Dollar einen der weltweit größten humanitären Bedarfe festgestellt. Hinzu kommen die Bedarfspläne des UNHCR für die Unterstützung von Flüchtlingen in den Lagern der Nachbarländer.

Das Auswärtige Amt leistet seit Jahren humanitäre Hilfe am Horn von Afrika mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Somalia und somalischen Flüchtlingen. Zwischen 2010 und 2013 wurden am Horn von Afrika Projekte mit einem Volumen von über 45 Millionen Euro gefördert. 2014 betrug das Volumen der humanitären Hilfe des Auswärtigen Amtes für vom Konflikt in Somalia Betroffene ca. 10,6 Mio €. Davon kamen knapp 5 Mio € innerhalb Somalias Vertriebenen zu Gute.

Auch 2015 Jahr fördert das Auswärtige Amt wieder Projekte am Horn von Afrika. Unterstützt werden unter anderem die Programme von UN-Organisationen wie UNHCR und WFP sowie des IKRK

Auch Projekte deutscher Nichtregierungsorganisationen werden gefördert - etwa die medizinische Hilfe für Binnenvertriebene in Somalia und für Flüchtlinge in den Flüchtlingslagern Dolo Ado in Äthiopien und Dadaab in Kenia.


Stand 26.03.2015

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere