Hauptinhalt

Five proposals relating to state‑sponsored disruption of networks

The Freedom Online Coalition (FOC) has issued a joint statement to critically examine the subject of governments disrupting communication networks and make five specific proposals in that regard. As one of the FOC’s Friends of the Chair, Germany is particularly active in the coalition.

The Freedom Online Coalition is an informal coalition of 30 member countries spread across five continents. Its goal is to promote freedom and human rights in the digital age, above all freedom of opinion, privacy, freedom of assembly and freedom of information. 

The coalition’s members coordinate their positions before any major internet events and international negotiations on human rights. They also regularly make public statements on current affairs. It is particularly important to the FOC to involve civil society, and its Annual Conferences, held in a different member country each year, are especially significant. The 2015 conference took place in Mongolia, the 2016 session in Costa Rica, and the 2017 meeting will be held in Sweden.    

Cyber Policy Director Thomas Fitschen at the 2016 FOC Conference

Cyber Policy Director Thomas Fitschen at the 2016 FOC Conference
© Auswärtiges Amt

Bild vergrößern
Cyber Policy Director Thomas Fitschen at the 2016 FOC Conference

Cyber Policy Director Thomas Fitschen at the 2016 FOC Conference

Cyber Policy Director Thomas Fitschen at the 2016 FOC Conference

Germany has been a member of the FCO since 2013 and provides it with financial support. At the coalition’s last Annual Conference, the Federal Foreign Office was represented by Ambassador Thomas Fitschen, Director for International Cyber Policy. The Federal Foreign Office also plays an active role in the FOC’s core group, the Friends of the Chair. 

The joint statement deals with state‑sponsored disruption of communication networks. Such measures are usually intended to prevent people accessing or disseminating critical information, through either landline or mobile networks. They often target particular sections of a country’s population and constitute a violation of their right not only to freedom of speech and information but also to freedom of association and assembly. However, the statement is not merely critical; it also contains five concrete proposals for improving policy.

FOC Joint Statement on State Sponsored Network Disruptions (PDF, 103 KB)


Last updated 31.03.2017

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Fünf Vorschläge mit Blick auf Netzabschaltungen durch Regierungen

Die Freedom Online Coalition hat sich in einer gemeinsamen Erklärung kritisch mit dem Thema Abschaltung von Kommunikationsnetzen durch Regierungen auseinandergesetzt und fünf konkrete Vorschläge dazu formuliert. Deutschland ist als Teil der Kernstaatengruppe besonders in dieser Koalition engagiert.

Die Freedom Online Coalition ist eine informelle Koalition aus 30 Mitgliedstaaten auf fünf Kontinenten. Ihr Ziel ist die Förderung von Freiheit und Menschenrechten im digitalen Zeitalter, allem voran der Meinungsfreiheit, Privatsphäre, Versammlungsfreiheit und Informationsfreiheit. 

Die Mitglieder der Freedom Online Coalition sprechen sich vor großen Internet-Veranstaltungen und internationalen Verhandlungen zu Menschenrechten ab. Sie nehmen außerdem immer wieder öffentlich zu aktuellen Themen Stellung.  Ein besonderes Anliegen ist die Einbeziehung der Zivilgesellschaft. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind die Jahrestreffen, die im Wechsel in unterschiedlichen Mitgliedstaaten der Koalition stattfinden, wie 2015 in der Mongolei und 2016 in Costa Rica. Das Treffen 2017 wird in Schweden stattfinden. 

Cyber-Beauftragter Fitschen beim FOC-Treffen 2016

Cyber-Beauftragter Fitschen beim FOC-Treffen 2016
© Auswärtiges Amt

Bild vergrößern
Cyber-Beauftragter Fitschen beim FOC-Treffen 2016

Cyber-Beauftragter Fitschen beim FOC-Treffen 2016

Cyber-Beauftragter Fitschen beim FOC-Treffen 2016

Deutschland ist seit 2013 Mitglied der Koalition und unterstützt sie finanziell. Auf dem letzten Jahrestreffen der Koalition war das Auswärtige Amt durch Botschafter Thomas Fitschen vertreten, den Beauftragten für Cyber-Außenpolitik. Das Auswärtige Amt ist außerdem in der Kernstaatengruppe „Freunde des Vorsitzes“ aktiv.

Die gemeinsame Erklärung setzt sich mit der Abschaltung von Kommunikationsnetzen durch Regierungen auseinander. Derartige Maßnahmen sollen zumeist Zugang zu kritischen Informationen verhindern oder deren Verbreitung unterbinden, sei es über das Festnetz oder mobil.  Häufig sind bestimmte Bevölkerungsgruppen Ziel solcher Maßnahmen. Ihr Recht auf Rede- und Informationsfreiheit, aber auch auf Vereinigungs- und Versammlungsfreiheit wird dadurch verletzt.  Die Erklärung übt aber nicht nur Kritik, sondern gibt auch fünf konkrete Anregungen für eine bessere Politik.

FOC Joint Statement on State Sponsored Network Disruptions (PDF, 103 KB)


Stand 31.03.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere