Hauptinhalt

International tourism policy

Tourism is considered to be a significant factor for the global economy and for global economic growth. Each year, more than one billion people travel abroad as tourists – and their number continues to grow. Forty times as many people now travel abroad for tourism than in 1950. The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) estimates that the number of global tourist arrivals will probably jump to 1.8 billion by the year 2030.

Encouraging tourists to come to Germany

Employing around three million people and accounting for almost 280 billion euros of consumption and 4.4 per cent of the nation’s GDP, the tourist industry is an important business sector with aboveaverage growth.

Almost 80 million foreign tourists spent the night in Germany in 2015. The largest numbers of tourists come from the Netherlands, Switzerland, the USA, the UK, Italy and Austria. Besides the USA, the largest nonEuropean sources of visitors to Germany are Russia, the People’s Republic of China and the Gulf countries. Every year some 50 million German citizens travel abroad. Germany is not only one of the world’s leading countries in terms of traveller numbers, but is also home to some of the largest tourism enterprises.

The German Government’s tourism policy

Enjoying summer time in Germany: beach chairs at the Baltic Sea.

Enjoying summer time in Germany: beach chairs at the Baltic Sea.
© colourbox

Bild vergrößern
Enjoying summer time in Germany: beach chairs at the Baltic Sea.

Enjoying summer time in Germany: beach chairs at the Baltic Sea.

Enjoying summer time in Germany: beach chairs at the Baltic Sea.

The German Government’s tourism policy seeks to create conditions conducive to the development of the German tourism sector. Part of the job of our missions abroad in promoting foreign trade and investment is to support German tourism companies abroad. At the same time, the German Government provides financial support to the German National Tourist Board (GNTB), which oversees tourism marketing abroad on behalf of the Federal Government from its 30 offices around the world. The German embassies and consulatesgeneral work closely with the GNTB to promote Germany as a tourist destination. In addition, the Federal Foreign Office and its missions abroad provide assistance to German tourists abroad, for instance through comprehensive, uptodate travel and safety advice or consular assistance.

The Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology is the lead ministry for the German Government’s tourism policy. Germany is a member of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), a specialised agency of the United Nations. Germany has been a member of the UNWTO Executive Council since September 2009 and was reelected for another fouryear term in 2013.


Last updated 22.07.2016

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Internationale Tourismuspolitik

Der Tourismus gilt weltweit als wichtiger Wirtschafts- und Wachstumsfaktor. Jedes Jahr begeben sich mehr als eine Milliarde Menschen auf eine touristische Reise ins Ausland bei weiter steigender Tendenz. Damit ist die Zahl der Auslandstouristen seit 1950 um das Vierzigfache gestiegen. Bis zum Jahr 2030 – so schätzt die Welttourismusorganisation (UNWTO) – dürfte die Anzahl der Touristenankünfte weltweit sogar auf 1,8 Milliarden ansteigen.

Förderung des Tourismus nach Deutschland

Die Tourismuswirtschaft in Deutschland ist mit etwa 3 Millionen Erwerbstätigen, fast 280 Milliarden Euro Konsumausgaben und 4,4 Prozent Anteil am Bruttoinlandsprodukt ein wichtiger Wirtschaftssektor mit überdurchschnittlichem Wachstum. Förderung des Tourismus nach Deutschland

2015 übernachteten fast 80 Millionen ausländische Touristen in Deutschland. Die wichtigsten Herkunftsländer sind die Niederlande, die Schweiz, die USA, Großbritannien, Italien und Österreich. Die wichtigsten außereuropäischen Herkunftsländer nach den USA sind Russland, die Volksrepublik China und die Staaten am Arabischen Golf. Jährlich unternehmen rund 50 Millionen Bundesbürger eine Auslandsreise. Deutschland ist nicht nur bei der Zahl der Reisenden international an vorderer Stelle, sondern verfügt auch über einige der größten Tourismusunternehmen.

Die Tourismuspolitik der Bundesregierung

Urlaub machen in Deutschland: Strandkörbe an der Ostseeküste.

Urlaub machen in Deutschland: Strandkörbe an der Ostseeküste.
© colourbox

Bild vergrößern
Urlaub machen in Deutschland: Strandkörbe an der Ostseeküste.

Urlaub machen in Deutschland: Strandkörbe an der Ostseeküste.

Urlaub machen in Deutschland: Strandkörbe an der Ostseeküste.

Die Tourismuspolitik der Bundesregierung verfolgt das Ziel, geeignete Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung des Tourismussektors in Deutschland zu schaffen. Im Rahmen der Außenwirtschaftsförderung flankieren unsere Auslandsvertretungen deutsche Unternehmen der Tourismuswirtschaft im Ausland. Gleichzeitig unterstützt die Bundesregierung finanziell die Deutsche Zentrale für Tourismus (DZT), die im Auftrag der Bundesregierung mit ihren 30 Auslandsbüros für das Tourismusmarketing im Ausland zuständig ist. Bei der Förderung des Reiselands Deutschland arbeiten die deutschen Botschaften und Generalkonsulate eng mit der DZT zusammen. Das Auswärtige Amt und die deutschen Auslandsvertretungen unterstützen zudem deutsche Touristen im Ausland, beispielsweise durch aktuelle und umfassende Reise- und Sicherheitshinweise und als Ansprechpartner für konsularische Nothilfe.

Für die Tourismuspolitik der Bundesregierung ist das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie federführend. Deutschland ist Mitglied in der Welttourismusorganisation (UNWTO), einer Sonderorganisation der Vereinten Nationen. Seit September 2009 ist Deutschland Mitglied im UNWTO-Exekutivrat, 2013 wurde es für vier weitere Jahre gewählt.


Stand 22.07.2016

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere