Hauptinhalt

Economic relations with Latin America

Many German companies have had subsidiaries in Latin America for over a century and have an excellent reputation there. In 2016, Lateinamerika Verein e. V. – Business Association for Latin America – celebrated its 100th anniversary, as did the German Chambers of Commerce Abroad in Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay. The Chamber of Commerce Abroad in Paraguay was established 50 years ago. Today, Brazil and Mexico are important overseas locations for German industry. In many other Latin American countries, German companies are playing an increasingly important role.

Employees of Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (file photo)

Employees of Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (file photo)
© Th. Koehler / photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
Employees of Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (file photo)

Employees of Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (file photo)

Employees of Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (file photo)

Latin America can look back on a golden decade, so to speak, because high demand, particularly from Asia, along with high prices for raw materials on the global market, generated strong growth in many Latin American countries. The drop in prices of, and global demand for, raw materials, along with slower economic growth around the world, are posing great challenges to the region.

Population growth, increasing urbanisation and efforts to diversify economic structures offer opportunities for German businesses. There is still a considerable need to modernise and expand Latin America’s infrastructure, and this bears potential for transport and logistics companies. There is also a demand for cutting-edge German technology in other areas – for instance, in mining, renewable energies, environmental technology and the health sector.

The European Union has signed trade agreements with 26 of the region’s 33 countries. These include the CARIFORUM countries, Chile, Mexico, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru. Negotiations are underway on an agreement with the MERCOSUR countries (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay).

Supporting the efforts of German companies

The German Government is helping German businesses exploit the wealth of opportunities Latin America offers. The German Chambers of Commerce Abroad, together with Germany’s missions abroad and Germany Trade and Invest (GTAI), a German Government agency, are the three main players in our external economic promotion activities. The principal target group here are small and medium-sized enterprises. In Peru, for example, a so-called German Desk has been set up which provides small and medium-sized enterprises with specialised financial advice from the Chamber of Commerce Abroad, the Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau, the German Investment and Development Company and the local partner bank Banco Financiero. As a corporate network and information platform for German companies, Lateinamerika Verein e.V. – Business Association for Latin America – also makes a major contribution to launching and expanding business activities in the region. The Latin America Initiative of German Business brings together Germany’s business associations.

Promoting sustainable production and use of energy and raw materials

Factory of Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (file photo)

Factory of Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (file photo)
© Th. Koehler / photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
Factory of Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (file photo)

Factory of Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (file photo)

Factory of Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (file photo)

Energy and raw materials policy plays a key role in Germany’s cooperation with Latin America. As a country with few raw materials, Germany is highly dependent on imports to supply its needs. Besides security of supply, economic efficiency of production and environmental compatibility are the key factors that shape the German Government’s natural resources policy.

In the sphere of energy, Germany is one of the region’s main partners for bilateral cooperation. There is significant potential for enhancing energy efficiency in Latin America – and it has by far not been fully tapped. The same applies to efficiency in energy generation and transportation. Ensuring that Germany has a sustainable, secure and cost-effective supply of energy and raw materials is another important aim of our cooperation with the region.

The German Government is therefore supporting efforts by countries in the region to develop sustainable energy systems by providing advice, funding projects and concluding energy and climate protection agreements. German companies are in an ideal position to participate in the modernisation of energy generation in Latin America. The challenge is to access new markets, particularly in the field of renewable energies, energy efficiency and environmental technology, as well as in the production of raw materials.

Latin America has rich deposits of minerals, such as iron, copper, tin and lithium. Just under 60% of the global production of lithium – needed, for instance, for manufacturing lithium-ion batteries for electric cars – comes from Latin America. This is one reason why cooperation with Latin America is of great importance, since Germany develops and brings to market a great deal of cutting-edge technology.

Instruments of external economic promotion

Foreign trade and investment promotion


Last updated 19.02.2015

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zu Lateinamerika

Viele deutsche Unternehmen sind seit über 100 Jahren mit Tochterunternehmen in Lateinamerika vertreten und genießen ein hohes Ansehen. Der Lateinamerika-Verein der deutschen Wirtschaft feierte 2016 sein 100-jähriges Bestehen, ebenso die Auslandshandelskammern in Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile und Uruguay. Die Außenhandelskammer in Paraguay ist seit 50 Jahren aktiv. Heute sind Brasilien und Mexiko wichtige Auslandsstandorte deutscher Industrie, in vielen anderen lateinamerikanischen Staaten wächst die Bedeutung von Unternehmen aus Deutschland.

Mitarbeiterinnen der Firma Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (Archiv)

Mitarbeiterinnen der Firma Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (Archiv)
© Th. Koehler / photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
Mitarbeiterinnen der Firma Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (Archiv)

Mitarbeiterinnen der Firma Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (Archiv)

Mitarbeiterinnen der Firma Beiersdorf, Silao, Mexiko (Archiv)

Lateinamerika blickt zurück auf eine "goldene Dekade": hohe Nachfrage besonders aus Asien und hohe Rohstoffpreise auf dem Weltmarkt bescherten vielen lateinamerikanischen Staaten hohe Wachstumsraten. Heute stellen gesunkene Preise, weniger Nachfrage auf den Weltrohstoffmärkten und ein weltweit geringeres Wirtschaftswachstum die Region vor große Herausforderungen.

Bevölkerungswachstum, zunehmende Urbanisierung und die Bestrebungen zur Diversifizierung von Wirtschaftsstrukturen bieten Chancen für die deutsche Wirtschaft. Der Bedarf an Modernisierung und Erweiterung der Infrastruktur in Lateinamerika ist beachtlich und eröffnet Perspektiven für Transport- und Logistikunternehmen. Auch in anderen Bereichen ist deutsche Spitzentechnologie gefragt, etwa im Bergbau, bei Erneuerbaren Energien, im Bereich Umwelttechnik und in der Gesundheitswirtschaft.

Die EU hat mit 26 von 33 Ländern der Region Handelsabkommen abgeschlossen, darunter mit den Ländern des CARIFORUM, Chile, Mexiko sowie Kolumbien, Ecuador und Peru. In Verhandlung befindet sich ein Abkommen mit den Staaten des MERCOSUR (Argentinien, Brasilien, Paraguay, Uruguay).

Deutsche Wirtschaft: Engagement unterstützen

Die Bundesregierung unterstützt die deutsche Wirtschaft bei der Erschließung des Potenzials Lateinamerikas. Die Auslandshandelskammern (AHK) bilden zusammen mit der bundeseigenen Germany Trade and Invest (GTAI) und den deutschen Auslandsvertretungen die drei Säulen der deutschen Außenwirtschaftsförderung. Kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen stellen dabei die wesentliche Zielgruppe dar. In Peru wird z.B. mit dem sogenannten "German Desk" eine spezifische Finanzierungsberatung durch die AHK, die KfW DEG und die lokale Partnerbank Banco Financiero für den Mittelstand eingeführt. Auch leistet der Lateinamerika-Verein als Unternehmensnetzwerk und Informationsplattform für die deutsche Wirtschaft einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Auf- und Ausbau von Geschäftsaktivitäten in der Region. In der Lateinamerika-Initiative der deutschen Wirtschaft haben sich die Wirtschaftsverbände, zusammengeschlossen.

Energie und Rohstoffe nachhaltig gewinnen und nutzen

Fabrik der Firma Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (Archiv)

Fabrik der Firma Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (Archiv)
© Th. Koehler / photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
Fabrik der Firma Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (Archiv)

Fabrik der Firma Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (Archiv)

Fabrik der Firma Schaeffler in Irapuato, Mexiko (Archiv)

Die Energie- und Rohstoffpolitik ist in der Zusammenarbeit Deutschlands mit Lateinamerika ein bedeutendes Thema. Deutschland ist als rohstoffarmes Land stark von Importen abhängig. Für die Rohstoffpolitik der Bundesregierung spielen neben der Versorgungssicherheit auch die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Produktion und die Umweltverträglichkeit eine zentrale Rolle.

Deutschland ist im Energiebereich einer der wichtigen bilateralen Kooperationspartner in der Region. Das Potenzial zur Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz ist in Lateinamerika erheblich und längst nicht ausgeschöpft. Das gleiche gilt für die Effizienz bei der Erzeugung und dem Transport von Energie. Auch eine nachhaltige, sichere und kostenadäquate Energie- und Rohstoffversorgung Deutschlands ist wichtiger Gegenstand der Zusammenarbeit.

Die Bundesregierung steht deshalb den Staaten der Region beim Aufbau nachhaltiger Energiesysteme durch Beratung, Finanzierung von Vorhaben sowie durch Energie- und Klimaschutzabkommen zur Seite. Deutsche Unternehmen haben beste Voraussetzungen, um an der Modernisierung der Energieerzeugung in Lateinamerika teilzunehmen. Es gilt, auch neue Märkte insbesondere im Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien, der Energieeffizienz und der Umwelttechnologie sowie der Rohstoffförderung zu erschließen.

In Lateinamerika finden sich große Vorkommen an mineralischen Rohstoffen wie Eisen, Kupfer, Zinn und Lithium. Knapp 60 Prozent der weltweiten Produktion von Lithium, das für die Herstellung von Lithium-Ionen Akkus zum Beispiel für Elektroautos wichtig ist, kommen aus Lateinamerika. Das zeigt, dass die Zusammenarbeit mit Lateinamerika für die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von Zukunftstechnologien am Hightech-Standort Deutschland von großer Bedeutung ist.

Instrumente der Wirtschafts- und Investitionsförderung

Außenwirtschaftsförderung


Stand 12.05.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere