Hauptinhalt

Education and research

Vocational training – dual training system

An apprentice at a German company in Irapuato (Mexico) takes measurements. The apprentices are trained using the German dual training system.

An apprentice at a German company in Irapuato (Mexico) takes measurements. The apprentices are trained using the German dual training system.
© Thomas Köhler/photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
An apprentice at a German company in Irapuato (Mexico) takes measurements. The apprentices are trained using the German dual training system.

An apprentice at a German company in Irapuato (Mexico) takes measurements. The apprentices are trained using the German dual training system.

An apprentice at a German company in Irapuato (Mexico) takes measurements. The apprentices are trained using the German dual training system.

In many Latin America countries, there is keen interest in the German dual system of vocational training. This kind of training is thus an important focus of bilateral relations with many partners in the region. For example, in recent years, the countries of the Pacific Alliance (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru) have shown increased interest and, as an observer country, Germany is playing an active role when it comes to vocational training.

Research cooperation

Latin America's role in the sphere of science, research and innovation is growing constantly. National investment in education and research is generating progress, and the region is becoming an increasingly important partner for Germany as a result. The growing internationalisation of academic cooperation is reflected in the large number of collaborations between German and Latin American universities and research institutes.

More and more German researchers are finding interesting research partners in Latin America. In 2010, for example, the first Fraunhofer Institute in Latin America was set up in the Chilean capital Santiago. In Argentina, increased cooperation on research led to the establishment of the CONICET - Partner Institute of the Max Planck Society (2011) and of a branch of the Max Planck Society in Buenos Aires (2014) and of the Max Planck Laboratory in Rosario (2014). A forum for events and services by German scientific organisations was created in São Paulo in Brazil with the inauguration of the German House of Science and Innovation.

Cooperation at universities

Academic cooperation has also become more important in the university sector, resulting in a large number of successful collaborations. As part of the Research and Academic Relations Initiative, three of a total of four centres of excellence worldwide were set up in Latin America – The Corporation Center of Excellency in Marine Sciences (CEMarin) in Colombia, the German-Colombian Peace Institute and the Heidelberg Center in Santiago. The German-Argentine University Centre promotes academic cooperation and the development of binational degree courses at German and Argentine universities.

Academic exchange is developing just as dynamically. Relatively few German students and academics opt to study or engage in research in the region. The number of German Academic Exchange Service fellows from Latin America has however risen significantly over the past years. The great interest is also reflected in the large number of grant programmes that are co-financed and co-run with partner countries. For example, in the period from 2012 to July 2016, the Brazilian Government’s academic travel programme, Ciência sem Fronteiras (Science without Borders) helped around 6500 students, PhD candidates and post-doctoral candidates to study at a German university. As a result of the economic crisis in Brazil, the programme has now been suspended. The same holds true for the cooperation programmes UNIBRAL and UNIBRAL II concluded between the Brazilian and German Education Ministries in 2000 and 2008 to promote cooperation between universities in the two countries. The programmes were implemented by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and its Brazilian partner organisation CAPES and facilitated exchanges for German and Brazilian students, post-doctoral candidates and professors as well as cooperation between faculties of the two countries. In 2017, the two programmes were integrated into the regular DAAD programmes International Study and Training Partnerships (ISAP) and International Degree Programmes with a Double Degree.

Promotion of the German language

While English is definitely the foreign language of first choice in Latin America, there is great interest in what Europe has to offer in the cultural sphere. One reason for this is that many Latin Americans have German roots. This also explains why the German language is comparatively strong in the region. There are 760 schools in Latin America where German is taught. Around 350,000 pupils in the region are now learning German.

The PASCH initiative

The initiative Schools: Partners for the Future (PASCH) was launched by the Federal Foreign Office in February 2008. The goal is to create a worldwide network of German-language partner schools. The aim of this initiative is to encourage young people’s interest in contemporary Germany and the German language.

The initiative’s network in Latin America now numbers 192 partner schools. These include 37 German schools abroad, 85 schools offering the German Language Certificate (DSD) and 70 schools starting up or expanding German teaching programmes (FIT schools).

Most of the German schools in Latin America were founded by German immigrants for their children and their neighbours’ children, some of them 150 years ago. They have now developed into major international schools and include the largest such school worldwide: Porto Seguro in São Paulo with a total of some 10,000 pupils, most of whom are Brazilian. Seven of these schools have vocational training centres, which primarily offer business training courses based on German models.

The main vehicles for promoting interest in the German language in Latin America also include the 15 Goethe-Institut branches, which offer German classes as well as training courses for teachers of German. Latin America also has ten Goethe-Zentren, 33 German Academic Exchange Service lectorships and 31 funded German-partner country cultural associations.

German in higher education

Some 345 universities in Latin America offer German studies or German language programmes. In total, they have some 2500 students enrolled in German studies programmes and some 41,000 students learning German as a foreign language alongside their main subject. The growing demand for German classes at universities reflects a global trend towards more practical language learning. The German Academic Exchange Service also promotes partnerships between German studies departments at German and Latin American universities. It is currently supporting the following partnerships in Latin America:

  • In Brazil: University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre – Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • In Colombia: Universidad de Antioquia in Medellín – Freiburg University of Education
  • In Chile: Deutsches Lehrerbildungsinstitut W. v. Humboldt (LBI) – Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)
  • In Cuba: Universidad de la Habana, Havana - Gießen University

German as a foreign language in school tends to be offered mainly in southern Latin America (Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and southern Brazil), where a significant proportion of the population is of German descent. A considerable number of universities in these countries have German studies departments, but some of their students have only very limited German language skills. The aim of inter-faculty German language classes, which are mainly given by DAAD lectors, is to remedy this situation.

Out-of-school German language programmes

In some countries, German language courses for adults are only provided by the Goethe-Institut, Goethe Centres and German-partner country cultural societies. In a few metropolitan areas (such as São Paulo, Mexico City and Buenos Aires) there are also a limited number of commercial providers of German courses.


Last updated 15.05.2017

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Bildung und Forschung

Berufliche Bildung - Duale Ausbildung

Ein Auszubildender bei einer deutschen Firma in Irapuato (Mexiko) vermisst ein Werkstück. Die Lehrlinge werden nach dem deutschen dualen Ausbildungssystem unterrichtet.

Ein Auszubildender bei einer deutschen Firma in Irapuato (Mexiko) vermisst ein Werkstück. Die Lehrlinge werden nach dem deutschen dualen Ausbildungssystem unterrichtet.
© Thomas Köhler/photothek.net

Bild vergrößern
Ein Auszubildender bei einer deutschen Firma in Irapuato (Mexiko) vermisst ein Werkstück. Die Lehrlinge werden nach dem deutschen dualen Ausbildungssystem unterrichtet.

Ein Auszubildender bei einer deutschen Firma in Irapuato (Mexiko) vermisst ein Werkstück. Die Lehrlinge werden nach dem deutschen dualen Ausbildungssystem unterrichtet.

Ein Auszubildender bei einer deutschen Firma in Irapuato (Mexiko) vermisst ein Werkstück. Die Lehrlinge werden nach dem deutschen dualen Ausbildungssystem unterrichtet.

In vielen lateinamerikanischen Ländern besteht großes Interesse am deutschen dualen System der beruflichen Ausbildung. Berufsbildung ist daher ein wichtiges Thema der bilateralen Beziehungen mit vielen Partnern in der Region. In den letzten Jahren zeigte sich u.a. ein zunehmendes Interesse der Länder der Pazifikallianz (Chile, Kolumbien, Mexiko, Peru), bei welcher sich Deutschland als Beobachterstaat verstärkt mit dem Thema der beruflichen Bildung einbringt.

Forschungszusammenarbeit

Auf dem Gebiet der Wissenschaft, Forschung und Innovation wächst die Bedeutung Lateinamerikas kontinuierlich. Da nationale Investitionen in Bildung und Forschung zu Fortschritten führen, entwickelt sich die Region zu einem immer wichtigeren Partner Deutschlands. Der zunehmenden Internationalisierung der akademischen Zusammenarbeit wird durch zahlreiche Kooperationen deutscher und lateinamerikanischer Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen Rechnung getragen.

Immer mehr deutsche Forscher finden interessante Partner in Lateinamerika. So wurde in Santiago de Chile 2010 das erste Fraunhofer-Institut auf dem lateinamerikanischen Kontinent gegründet. In Argentinien führte verstärkte Kooperation im Bereich Forschung  zur Einrichtung des CONICET-Max-Planck-Partnerinstituts (2011) und einer Repräsentanz der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Buenos Aires (2014) sowie des Max-Planck-Laboratoriums in Rosario (2014). In São Paulo, Brasilien, wurde mit der Einweihung des Deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationshauses ein Forum für Veranstaltungen und Service der deutschen Wissenschaftsorganisation geschaffen.

Universitäre Zusammenarbeit

Auch im Hochschulbereich hat die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit an Bedeutung gewonnen und viele erfolgreiche Kooperationsprojekte hervorgebracht. So wurden im Rahmen der Außenwissenschaftsinitiative drei von weltweit vier Exzellenzzentren in Lateinamerika gegründet – das Meeresforschungsinstitut CEMarin in Kolumbien, das Deutsch-Kolumbianische Friedensinstitut und das Heidelberg Center in Santiago de Chile. Das Deutsch-Argentinische Hochschulzentrum fördert die akademische Zusammenarbeit und die Entwicklung bi-nationaler Studiengänge von argentinischen und deutschen Hochschulen.

Ebenso dynamisch entwickelt sich der akademische Austausch. Verhältnismäßig wenige deutsche Studierende und Wissenschaftler entscheiden sich für einen Studien- oder Forschungsaufenthalt in der Region. Die Zahl der DAAD-Stipendiaten aus Lateinamerika ist allerdings in den letzten Jahren deutlich angestiegen. Das große Interesse spiegelt sich auch in der Vielzahl an ko-finanzierten Stipendienprogrammen wider, die unter Beteiligung der Partnerländer durchgeführt werden. Beispielsweise hat das Mobilitätsprogramm "Ciência sem Fronteiras" ("Wissenschaft ohne Grenzen") der brasilianischen Regierung von 2012 bis Juli 2016 6.500 Studierenden, Promovenden und Post-Doktoranden einen Aufenthalt an einer deutschen Hochschule ermöglicht. Wegen der Wirtschaftskrise in Brasilien wurde das Programm allerdings inzwischen wieder eingestellt. Gleiches gilt für die zwischen den Bildungsministerien Brasiliens und Deutschlands 2000 und 2008 verabschiedeten  Kooperationsprogramme UNIBRAL und UNIBRAL II zur Zusammenarbeit der Hochschulen beider Länder, die vom DAAD und seiner brasilianischen Partnerorganisation CAPES durchgeführt wurden und den Austausch von deutschen und brasilianischen Studierenden, Postdocs und Professoren sowie die Kooperation von Fakultäten beider Länder ermöglichten. Beide Programmlinien sind ab 2017 in die analogen, regulären Programme des DAAD, "Instituts- und Ausbildungspartnerschaften" (ISAP) sowie "Integrierte Studiengänge mit Doppelabschluss" übergegangen.

Förderung der deutschen Sprache

Auch wenn Englisch unangefochten erste Fremdsprache in Lateinamerika ist, besteht - auch aufgrund vieler Deutschstämmiger - eine hohe Bereitschaft, kulturelle Angebote aus dem europäischen Raum anzunehmen. Dadurch erklärt sich auch eine vergleichsweise gute Position für die deutsche Sprache. In der Region Lateinamerika gibt es etwa 760 Schulen mit Deutschunterricht. Insgesamt lernen in Lateinamerika etwa 350.000 Schüler Deutsch.

Die PASCH-Initiative

Die Initiative 'Schulen: Partner der Zukunft' (PASCH) wurde im Februar 2008 vom Auswärtigen Amt ins Leben gerufen. Ziel ist, ein weltumspannendes Netz von Partnerschulen aufzubauen. Mit dieser Initiative soll bei jungen Menschen nachhaltiges Interesse und Begeisterung für das moderne Deutschland und die deutsche Sprache geweckt werden.

Insgesamt ist das Partnerschulnetz in Lateinamerika auf 192 Schulen angewachsen. Darunter sind 37 Deutsche Auslandsschulen, 85 Sprachdiplomschulen (DSD-Schulen) und 70 Schulen, an denen Deutschunterricht auf- oder ausgebaut wird (FIT-Schulen).

Die deutschen Auslandsschulen in Lateinamerika wurden meist von deutschen Auswanderern für ihre Kinder und die Kinder ihrer Nachbarn gegründet, teilweise schon vor 150 Jahren. Inzwischen haben sie sich zu großen Begegnungsschulen entwickelt, darunter die größte weltweit: Porto Seguro in Sao Paulo mit insgesamt ca. 10.000 Schülern – die meisten von ihnen Brasilianer. An 7 dieser Schulen können in Berufsbildungszentren meist kaufmännische Ausbildungen nach deutschem Muster absolviert werden.

Die Förderung der deutschen Sprache in Lateinamerika erfolgt auch sehr wesentlich durch die 15 in der Region tätigen Goethe-Institute mit ihrem Angebot an Sprachunterricht und Fortbildungsmaßnahmen für Deutschlehrer. Darüber hinaus gibt es in Lateinamerika 10 Goethe-Zentren, 33 DAAD-Lektorate und 31 geförderte deutsch-ausländische Kulturgesellschaften.

Deutsch im Hochschulbereich

Es gibt in Lateinamerika rund 345 Hochschulen, die Deutsch als Fremdsprache und/oder Germanistik als Studienfach anbieten. Rund 2.500 Studierende sind für Germanistik immatrikuliert, rund 41.000 Studenten erlernen Deutsch studienbegleitend. Die steigende Nachfrage nach studienbegleitenden Deutsch-Angeboten trifft einen weltweiten Trend stärker anwendungsbezogenen Fremdsprachenlernens. Zudem bietet der DAAD die Förderung von Germanistischen Institutspartnerschaften zwischen deutschen und lateinamerikanischen Hochschulen an. Derzeit werden vom DAAD in Lateinamerika folgende Germanistische Institutspartnerschaften unterstützt:

  • in Brasilien: Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do SulPorto Alegre - Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • in Kolumbien: Universidad de Antioquia, Medellin - Pädagogische Hochschule Freiburg
  • in Chile: Deutsches Lehrerbildungsinstitut W. v. Humboldt (LBI) – Universität München (LMU)
  • in Kuba: Universidad de la Habana, Havanna - Universität Gießen

Aufgrund der deutschstämmigen Bevölkerungsstruktur ist Deutsch im Schulsystem lediglich im südlichen Lateinamerika (Argentinien, Chile, Paraguay, Südbrasilien) zahlenmäßig relevant vertreten. Dort bestehen auch an vielen Universitäten germanistische Abteilungen, deren Studenten jedoch zum Teil nur über unzureichende Deutschkenntnisse verfügen. Der interfakultative Deutschunterricht, der vorwiegend durch DAAD-Lektoren gegeben wird, soll Abhilfe schaffen.

Außerschulischer Deutschunterricht

Außerschulischer Deutschunterricht für Erwachsene wird in einigen Ländern nur von den Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren und deutsch-ausländischen Kulturgesellschaften angeboten. In einigen urbanen Ballungsräumen (beispielsweise Sao Paolo, Mexiko Stadt und Buenos Aires) gibt es zudem eine gewisse Zahl von kommerziellen Anbietern von Deutschkursen.


Stand 15.05.2017

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise und Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere