Bilateral environment policy

Germany is part of a dense network of bilateral environmental cooperation linking it with many countries all over the world. One third of total German development aid goes towards projects in the field of nature and resource conservation. Since the creation of a separate Federal Environment Ministry in 1986, Germany has signed a wide range of bilateral agreements with numerous partner countries in Europe and elsewhere.

Very considerable importance is attached to environmental issues in the European Union. Germany therefore cooperates particularly closely with its European neighbours in the field of environmental policy. EU Environment Ministers meet regularly, both within the EU framework and on a bilateral basis.

By way of example, in addition to the Franco-German summits and ongoing consultations between the two countries, a Franco-German Environment Council brings their respective environment ministers together every year. This Council was set up as early as 1989.

A similar ministerial-level German-Polish Council has existed since 1992. The Council meets regularly to discuss cooperation on environmental protection in both countries.

Before the countries of Central and Eastern Europe became part of the European Union, Germany’s extremely close environmental cooperation with them focused on bringing them into line with EU environmental standards and repairing environmental damage done in the past. The priorities now are exchanging views on twinning projects and, quite frequently, coordinating positions in the run-up to international environmental conferences, such as climate conferences or the Conferences of the Parties to the UN Convention on Biological Diversity.

Cooperation between Germany and the United States is of key importance in the area of environmental and energy policy. With its vast economy producing the highest pro capita CO2 emissions in the world, the US plays a major role in UN climate negotiations. In order to underline the political significance of this cooperation, the Federal Foreign Office and Federal Environment Ministry initiated the “Transatlantic Climate Bridge” on 30 September 2008.

Specific measures include networking activities, the provision of information and events, targeted in the first instance at suitable multipliers. Examples are lecture tours and fact-finding visits, specialist events and the website of the German Embassy in Washington 

Transatlantic climate bridge

More information can be found under:

Environmental Cooperation with China

Priorityis also attached to bilateral environmental cooperation with China, which has recognized both the dangers associated with climate change and the advantages of low-emission environmental technologies and renewable energies.

In 2009 a Memorandum of Understanding was signed between the German and Chinese Governments and also a joint declaration between the Federal Environment Ministry and the Chinese Ministry of Commerce on cooperation in the field of climate protection. These consolidate the multifaceted cooperation in this area and provide a basis for climate protection projects within the framework of the “International Climate Initiative”.

Bilateral environmental agreements take the form of intergovernmental agreements or interministerial agreements entered into by the Federal Environment Ministry with many other countries in Latin America, Asia and Africa.

Last updated 06.03.2010

share page:

About us

Entry & Residence

Foreign & European Policy

Hauptinhalt

Bilaterale Umweltpolitik

Deutschland unterhält ein dichtes Netz an bilateralen Umweltkooperationen mit vielen Ländern in aller Welt. Ein Drittel der gesamten deutschen Entwicklungshilfe wird für Projekte im Natur- und Ressourcenschutz verwendet. Seit Bildung eines selbstständigen Bundesumweltministeriums im Jahre 1986 hat Deutschland eine Fülle bilateraler Abkommen mit vielen Partnerstaaten in Europa und auch in anderen Regionen der Welt geschlossen.

Innerhalb der Europäischen Union kommt den Umweltthemen ein besonders hoher Stellenwert zu. Deutschland arbeitet daher mit seinen europäischen Nachbarn in der Umweltpolitik besonders eng zusammen. Die Umweltminister treffen sich regelmäßig im EU-Rahmen und darüber hinaus auch im bilateralen Kontext.

So findet mit Frankreich neben den deutsch-französischen Gipfeltreffen und kontinuierlichen Konsultationen alljährlich ein deutsch-französischer Umweltrat der beiden Umweltminister statt. Dieser Rat wurde bereits 1989 eingerichtet.

Einen vergleichbaren Rat auf Ministerebene gibt es seit 1992 auch im Verhältnis zu Polen. Er tritt regelmäßig zusammen, um Fragen der Kooperation beim Umweltschutz in beiden Ländern zu behandeln.

Die sehr intensive Zusammenarbeit mit den Staaten Mittel- und Osteuropas im Bereich Umwelt wurde bis zu ihrem EU-Beitritt vom Prozess der Angleichung an EU-Umweltnormen und der Behebung von Umweltschäden aus der Vergangenheit geprägt. Jetzt geht es vorrangig um einen Meinungsaustausch über Partnerschaftsprojekte (so genannte Twinning Projekte) und oft auch um einen Abgleich der Positionen bei der Vorbereitung internationaler Umweltkonferenzen wie z.B. den internationalen Klimakonferenzen oder den Vertragstaatenkonferenzen der VN-Konvention über biologische Vielfalt.

Zusammenarbeit mit den USA von zentraler Bedeutung

Von zentraler Bedeutung im Bereich Klima- und Energiepolitik ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und den USA, die als große Volkswirtschaft mit den weltweit höchsten pro-Kopf Emissionen in den VN-Klimaverhandlungen eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Um die politische Bedeutung dieser Zusammenarbeit zu unterstreichen, haben das Auswärtige Amt und das BMU am 30.09.2008 den "Transatlantischen Klimabrückenschlag" initiiert.

Zu den konkreten Maßnahmen gehören Netzwerkaktivitäten, Informationsvermittlung und Veranstaltungen, die sich in erster Linie an geeignete Multiplikatoren richten, wie Vortrags- und Themenreisen, Fachveranstaltungen, sowie die Website der deutschen Botschaft in Washington

Transatlantic climate bridge

Näheres finden Sie unter:

Umweltzusammenarbeit mit China

Besonders wichtig ist auch die bilaterale Umweltzusammenarbeit mit China, das Gefahren des Klimawandels sowie Vorteile emissionsarmer Umwelttechnologien und erneuerbarer Energien erkannt hat.

Im Jahr 2009 wurden ein Memorandum of Understanding zwischen deutscher und chinesischer Regierung sowie eine gemeinsame Erklärung zwischen Umweltministerium und chinesischem Ministry of Commerce über die Klimaschutz-Zusammenarbeit unterzeichnet, die die vielfältige Zusammenarbeit in diesem Bereich bündeln und Grundlage für Klimaschutzprojekte im Rahmen der „Internationalen Klimaschutzinitiative“ sind.

Bilaterale Umweltabkommen bestehen als Regierungsabkommen sowie als Ressortabkommen des Bundesumweltministeriums auch mit zahlreichen sonstigen Ländern Lateinamerikas, Asiens und Afrikas. 


Stand 07.03.2010

Seite teilen:

Einreise & Aufenthalt

Auswärtiges Amt

Reise & Sicherheit

Außen- und Europapolitik

Ausbildung & Karriere